Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Tuesday, March 22, 2011, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Rick Dunham – Vice-President, Gary Schniederjan – Secretary, Doug Claborn – Board Member, Misty Mellema – Board Member, Russell Routon – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, Mark McCormick – Intermediate School Principal, Carolyn Field – XIT Principal, John Machel – J H Principal, Denice Hutchinson – Asst. H S Principal, David Steele, H S Prinicpal, Karen Taft – Elem. Principal, Carroline Methvin – Dir. or Curr./Inst., Joe Garcia – Dir. of Main., and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: None Visitors: Rick Ball – H S Band Director, David Field – County Judge, Janelle Goodell – Dalhart Texan, Mr. Hanshew – Hilmar Cheese, Mrs. Hanshew – Elem. Teacher, John Cover Jr., Kristi Thelander – Elem. Teacher, Mike Thelander, Boyd Barrow, John Abbott – Shiver, Megert and Associates, James Hicks – Wiley Hicks Jr., Inc., Peter Baumert, Reynaldo Encinias and Mr. Hall

- 12244. Call to Order President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.
- 12245. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12246. Student/Teacher Presentations Mr. Ball had 4 of his High School State Qualifing Students perform for the board.
- 12247. Audience with:

- XIT Communications.

Patrons – None Students – None Staff – None

- 12248. Mr. Foote gave a brief update on the QSCB 2010 and where we were at at this time and the progress of the Athletic Complex.
- 12249. Mr. James Hicks with Wiley Hicks Jr. Inc. General Contractors and Mr. John Abbott with Shiver, Megert and Associates Architects went over the bids that were received and stated that the bids were over budget. The board then

advised Mr. Hicks to begin the Value Engineering process for the project to see if there are some areas that the district can save some monies. He will get back with the board after this process has been completed.

- 12250. Appoint Election Judges and Early Voting Clerks for the scheduled May 14, 2011, School Trustee Election It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Misty Mellema to approve the following Election Judge and Early Voting Clerks: Election Judge Jan Cumming, Alternate Judge Wilma Stewart, Early Voting Board Jan Cumming and Wilma Stewart, Early Voting Clerks: David Foote, Susan Hopkins, Norma Smallwood, Kathy Winchell, Thad Lasater, and Delbert Dodds Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12251. Consider Textbook Committee recommendations for adoption of textbooks -It was moved by Russell Routon and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve the textbook committee recommendations as presented. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12252. Consider time and date to canvass and certify the May 14, 2011, School Trustee Election – It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Misty Mellema to canvass and certify the May 14, 2011 school trustee election on May 19, 2011 at the regular scheduled board meeting for May. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12253. Mr. Foote gave a brief update on the United Supermarkets, L.L.C. application to TABC for an Off-Premise Beer & Wine Permit for the store located at 1601 Tennessee, Dalhart, Texas.
- 12254. Consider and discuss the 2011 2012 school calendar Mr. Foote went over the calendar and stated that this was not the final calendar that another updated calendar would be presented at the next board meeting.
- 12255. Update on Roof Removal and Replacement for DISD Mr. Foote stated everything was going very well, they were a little behind due to weather and some testing days, but everything was looking good and making steady progress on the roofs.
- 12256. Update on Superintendent Goals The board will set a special meeting date and time to address these goals.
- 12257. Consider date and time for goal setting meeting The board will have a

special meeting on April 12, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. at the Administration Building at 701 East 10th, Dalhart, Texas.

12258. Consider and discuss the sublease with XIT Newco, LLC for sublease of building located at Dalhart Junior High – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the sublease with XIT Newco, LLC for the building located at the Dalhart Junior High. (See Attached Agreement) Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

Abstained: Routon

12259. Consider and discuss the Non-Disturbance and Attornment Agreement with XIT Newco, LLC for the building located at Dalhart Junior High – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Misty Mellema to approve the Non-Disturbance and Attornment Agreement with XIT Newco, LLC for the building located at Dalhart Junior High.

Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

Abstained: Routon

12260. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

Financial Reports

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Russell Routon and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to approve the consent agenda: minutes of regular board meeting held on February 17, 2011, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for February 2011. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating and Air bills

- 12261. President Lloyd announced that the Board of Trustees would adjourn into closed session in accordance with Texas Government Code Chapter 551 to discuss personnel issues at 8:46 p.m. The board reconvened in open session at 9:58 p.m.
- 12262. It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Russell Routon to approve 20 days extended leave to each Lacey Murga and Tawny Allen. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12263. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 10:04 p.m.