DENTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Resolution in Honor of James Newton Rayzor Family Saturday, April 13, 2013

WHEREAS, the Denton Independent School District community has successfully developed a strong foundation that provides an exemplary education to its students;

WHEREAS, this strong educational foundation has been reinforced many times throughout the years by the late Mr. James Newton Rayzor and his family;

WHEREAS, the late Mr. James Newton Rayzor, who was a successful businessman and former school teacher, truly valued education and was a trail blazer in providing a quality education for all students and was one of the original founders of Texas Woman's University;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family support of education was exemplified by their many generous land donations to the Denton Independent School District.

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for James Newton Rayzor Elementary School;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for the Special Education Building;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family acquired property to access Chester Strickland Middle School;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for Frank Borman Elementary School and the adjacent Denia Park;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for Eugenia Porter Elementary School;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for Annie Webb Blanton Elementary School;

WHEREAS, the Rayzor family dedicated the land for the Tom Harpool Middle School;

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees, staff and students of the Denton Independent School District appreciate the generous donations and educational leadership that the Rayzor family has provided for many decades;

NOW BE IT RESOLVED that Denton ISD acknowledges the outstanding generosity of the James Newton Rayzor family.

THEREFORE, Denton ISD and the Board of Trustees declare Saturday, April 13, 2013, "The James Newton Rayzor Family Day" throughout the district.

Passed and approved on the 9th day of April, 2013

Mia Price, Board President	Dr. Glenna Harris, Board Vice President
Dr. Rudy Rodriquez, Board Secretary	Dr. Jim Alexander, Board Member
Barbara Burns, Board Member	Dr. Jeanetta Smith, Board Member
Charles Stafford , Board Member	Dr. Jamie Wilson, Superintendent