DRAFT

Minutes of the October 23, 2024 - Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special meeting on October 23, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Nichole Bentley, Vice President; Jobby Mathew, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill and Ranna Raval

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on October 17, 2024, at 4:45 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Viana Martinez, Administrative Assistant; Kristin Eichel; Diana Sircar; Angela Brown; Amanda Simpson; Kit Pehl, Stephanie Flores; Naveen Boppana; Dr. Anita De La Isla and Garrett Yin

OPEN FORUM

The following community members requested to address the Board in Open Forum: Viki Wolfe – DLI consolidation Tracy Fisher – Wilson DLI Melinda Melnick – DLI recommendations Megan DeBlieck – DLI recommendations Jenn Cao – 7.1.1 Ranna Dallman – DLI consolidation Sirisha Bhandaru – IB program Julie Waters – consolidation Vance Hill – DLL Eneida Padró – DLI Robert Hill – DLI José Iturregui – DLI Sheri Hill – DLI Sissy Dávila – DLI Juan G. Rolón - IB and DLI recommendations Christina Wiens – IB program

<u>ACTION</u>

Manish Sethi motioned to move the International Baccalaureate program to Wilson Elementary, the Dual Language Immersion Program consolidated to Denton Creek Elementary, and the Pre-K programs be leveled across the district. The motion was seconded by Jobby Mathew. The vote was 5-2 with Anthony Hill and Nicole Bentley voting in opposition.

ADJOURNMENT

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Nicole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:21 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President

Jobby Mathew, Secretary