MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

December 8, 2011

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session December 8, 2011 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Absent was Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the October 20, 2011 regular meeting were read and approved as presented by Hector Gonzales, Dean of Instructional Services and CFO.

Board President Rodolfo R. Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Hector Gonzales, Dr. Blaine Bennett, Joe Barker, Anne Tarski, Willie Edwards, Barbara Blair, Manuel Alejandro, Wade Carpenter, Terri Tucker, Richard Jones, Oscar S. Garcia, Amanda Hadley, Jeff Pomeroy, Doug Braudaway, Rebecca Andrews, Christine Foley, Barbara Compton, and Connie Buchanan. Also present was Dolores Flores, Eric Ede, Veronica Gracia and from the Uvalde Leader News, Jessica Chavez.

Audience to Patrons: None

PHI THETA KAPPA - C4 Completion Project report presented by Barbara Blair, Veronica Gracia and Richard Jones.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to accept the 2010 - 2011 Audited Financial Statement which was presented by Eric Ede of Ede and Co., CPA. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the financial statement as of October 31, 2011 as presented by Anne Tarski, Controller. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the 2011 - 2012 Operating Budget Amendments as presented by Anne Tarski, Controller. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve extending the Crystal City note with First State Bank. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Anita Shackelford to designate Maria Elena Lara as SWTJC's CCATT representative. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to designate Jesus Martinez as the Local Government Records Management Officer. Motion carried unanimously.

Hector Gonzales, Dean of Instructional Services and CFO gave reports on:

- A) THECB 2011 Education Leadership Conference: Duties & Ethics of Public Sector Board Members under Texas Law
- B) IPEDS Feedback Report

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 7:48 p.m.

| Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board | |
|---|---|
| | |
| | |
| | Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board |
| | |
| Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness | |