AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., August 18, 2009, with the following members:

> Present: Absent: Fay Batch Carol Gregg

Ray Beaty DC

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Sgt. Pete Frankson, Ken Bunts, Marcie Bunts, Roger Bunts, Wayne

Squiers, William Garcia, Evelyn Garcia, Amy Russell, Jeff Russell, Andrea Martin, Brenda Bentley, Mauricio Marquez, Matt McGowan, Sharyn Smith, Lisa Anaya, Tommie Robinson, Jan Brown, Pam Walker, Sheila Lackey, Carolyn Gonzalez, Tommy Harrison, Aurora Dominguez, Nancy Vickery, Tammy Owen, Rose Valdez, Buddy Hale, Yolanda Villareal, Marliee Holmes, Marcos Lopez, Rexana Hughes, Allison Hughes, Tony Parris, Elaine Smith, Kellie Wilks, Damon Jackson, Glenn DeMoss, Virginia Garela, Jacklyn Gaona, Pam Kwiatkowski, Denise Shetter, Alicia Syverson, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Michelle Edwards, Nelda

Loya

Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the 20624

Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United 20625

States and Texas flag pledges were led by Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary

Students James Vega and Royce Bunts.

Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend David Miller of Crescent Park 20626

Baptist Church.

Special Presentations:

Texas Education Agency Accountability Ratings Exemplary and Recognized Campuses –

The following TEA Exemplary and Recognized Campuses were presented awards for their exemplary and recognized accountability ratings:

Exemplary Rating:

Blackshear Magnet Ireland Magnet Barbara Jordan Elementary Reagan Magnet (14th year in a row)

Recognized Rating:

Bowie Junior High (District's first secondary school to reach the Recognized level)
Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary

Austin Montessori

Blanton Elementary

Burleson Elementary

Burnet Elementary

Cameron Elementary

Cavazos Elementary

Gonzales Elementary

Hays Magnet

Johnson Elementary

Noel Magnet

Pease Elementary

Ross Elementary

Sam Houston Elementary

San Jacinto Elementary

Travis Magnet

"Do the Write Thing" Recognition -

Allison Hughes, Bonham Junior High student, was recognized for her participation in the "Do the Write Thing" anti-violence program.

Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of

this meeting.

Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Pace that the following Consent Agenda, except for #5 (Purchases over \$250,000) be approved.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>Citizen's Request to Address Board (Jeff Russell)</u>: Jeff Russell addressed the Board of Trustees with regard to the Life Center Sexual Integrity Program Changes.
- <u>Request for Approval of IDEA-B Stimulus Funded Plan</u>: Moved by Batch, seconded by Norwood to approve the IDEA-B Stimulus Funded Plan Proposal as presented.

For: Against: Batch Beaty Norwood

Pace Smith Wilkins

Motion carried.

- **Summer School Report:** Janet Baker, District Instructional Officer, presented the 2009 Secondary Summer School Report and Wendy Hines, Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Operations, presented the Elementary Report.
- **Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #4:** Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve Budget Amendment #4 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of 2009 Certified Appraisal Roll: Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve the 2009 Certified Appraisal Roll as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20635

Request for Approval of Appointment/Reappointment of Tri-Ethnic
Committee Members: Moved by Wilkins, seconded by Norwood to approve the following appointments/reappointments of Tri-Ethnic Committee members:

Regular Board Meeting August 18, 2009

African American -

Dr. Tara Deaver Dr. Tracie M. Gibson

Anglo -

Carol Arndt Ken Frasier Dr. Joanna Hadjicostandi Nelson Minyard

Hispanic -

Yolanda Ramirez

Request for Approval of UIL Eligibility Courses: Moved by Batch, seconded by Norwood to approve the UIL Eligibility Courses list as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Board Policy DEA(Local) Compensation and Benefits: Salaries and Wages: Moved by Batch, seconded by Wilkins to approve Board Policy DEA(Local) Compensation and Benefits: Salaries and Wages as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Discussion of Board Policies from Update 85 [FIRST READING]:</u> Board Policies from Update 85 were presented for discussion and first reading.

20639 Request for Approval of 2009-2010 PDAS Appraisal Calendar and Timelines: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to approve the 2009-2010 PDAS Appraisal Calendar and Timelines as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of 2009-2010 PDAS Appraisers: Moved by Batch, seconded by Beaty to approve the 2009-2010 PDAS Appraisers as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Closed Meeting – Consultation with Attorney – Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion and Consideration of Pending Litigation: Cause No. MO-70-CV-64 CRUCIAL, ET AL. vs. ECISD – Desegregation Case) and Personnel Matters – Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 7:50 p.m.

Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 8:22 p.m.

Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20643 Adjournment: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:23 p.m.

Board President
Dr. Donna Smith
Board Secretary
Yollie Wilkins