

## GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: November 14, 2017

TITLE: Recognition of 2017 Arizona Elementary Science Teacher of the Year

## **BACKGROUND:**

The Science Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually by the Arizona Science Teachers Association (ASTA) to recognize and honor teachers who exemplify quality science teaching. One teacher from the elementary level, middle school/junior high level, and the high school level is honored with the award at the annual ASTA convention.

This year, **Mrs. Robyn Yewell**, 5th grade teacher at Donaldson Elementary, earned the title of 2017 Arizona Elementary Science Teacher of the Year.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.

**INITIATED BY:** 

Amy Sharpe

**Amy Sharpe, Director of Community Relations** 

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D. Superintendent

Date: November 7, 2017