Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees Fort Smith Public Schools

A Regular School Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Monday, July 17, 2017, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B.

Ms. Susan McFerran, vice president, called the meeting to order. Other Board members present were Ms. Jeannie Cole, Mr. Bill Hanesworth, Ms. Talicia Richardson, Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin and Mr. Wade Gilkey. Dr. Deanie Mehl was absent. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Gordon Floyd, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Martin Mahan, Executive Director Human Resources and Support Services, Dr. Barry Owen, Chief Academic Officer, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services, and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent were present.

The pledge of allegiance was recited and Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin gave the Invocation.

The consent agenda included the minutes of the June 26 Regular School Board Meeting and the June Financial Report. Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Richardson to approve the consent agenda as presented. The vote passed 6/0.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT:

Dr. Brubaker yielded to Mr. Mahan to review the professional staff recommendations.

Professional Staff Recommendations

Resignations

Harris, Corey Cooper, Daniel Summers, Michael Huntington, Tyler Figueroa, Santiago

Retirements Watlington, Pamela

McGeHee, Karen

Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jeannie Cole, to approve the resignations and retirements. The vote passed 6/0.

School Board Minutes July 17, 2017 Page 2

Recommendations for Employment

Smothers, David
Rich, Mikayla
Bowden, Vander
Skaggs, Tracey
Weisenfels, Kandace
Verge, Anthony
Patino, Jacqueline
Martin, Leslie
Hamilton, Payton
Reed, Joseph
Johnson, Christopher

Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, to approve the recommendations for employment. The vote passed 6/0.

Recognitions

Ms. Featherston Marshall and Ms. McFerran recognized the Chaffin Junior High Quiz Bowl Teams. Three teams competed nationally. The Chaffin Gold Team won the National Academic Championship Quiz Bowl. Team members include Mahdir Anower, Noah Risley, Haris Rana, Vivian Apple, Lucas Teoh, Seth Geoates, and Tran Nguyen. The Gold Team is coached by Amy Markham. The White team came in 4th and the Green Team came in 8th Place.

Introduction of New Administrators

Dr. Brubaker introduced Mr. Terry Morawski as the District's Chief Operating Officer and Ms. Courtney Morawski as new principal at Cook Elementary School.

Strategic Planning Overview

Dr. Brubaker reviewed the timeline of the Strategic Planning schedule. He reported that District administrators and the Strategic Planning Committee will begin team meetings with Cambridge Strategic Services in August.

SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION RESOLUTION

Dr. Brubaker reported that only one candidate submitted properly signed petitions for At-large, Position 2 and Zone III, Position 7, by the filing deadline for the school board election in September. He stated that since the millage is not proposed to change and the election is

uncontested, the District can ask the Sebastian County Election Commission to conduct the election by absentee and early voting only by Board approved resolution.

School Board Minutes July 17, 2017 Page 3

Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin made a motion, seconded by Mr. Wade Gilkey, to waive the formal reading of the resolution. The vote passed 6/0. Mr. Haneworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to approve the resolution as written. The vote passed 6/0.

BOARD MEMBERS FORUM

Ms. Cole expressed concern for the viewing of the Solar Eclipse on August 21. Dr. Owen stated that Principals and teachers are preparing for safe viewing.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION

No one was present for citizen participation.

The meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m.