REGULAR BOARD MEETING

April 16, 2018

The Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, April 16, 2018 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado, Celina, TX 75009 in Room 12 and the Board Room.

At 6:33 PM Kelly Juergens called the dinner session to order. Details of the High School Walk-out, CISD Stakeholder Character Traits, construction, and Agenda items were discussed.

At 6:55 PM Kelly Juergens closed the dinner session.

At 7:01 PM Board President Kelly Juergens called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Tracey Balsamo lead the pledge and Brooks Barr gave the invocation.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Choc Christopher, Jeff Gravley, Kelly Juergens, Todd Snyder, Chuck Hansen, Brooks Barr and Tracey Balsamo.

MEMBERS ABSENT:

SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT: Rick DeMasters, Bill Hemby, John Mathews, Lori Sitzes, Starlyn Wells, Russell McDaniel, David Wilson, Kim Kincaid, Stacy Ceci, Kaylyn Reedy, Starla Martin, Nancy Alvarez, Shara Roden, Shawna Mathews, Marc Rauzi, Fred Bentsen, Thomas Gifford, Caleb Tindell, Chief White, Chief Manson, Student Superintendent Award winners, and various parents and family members.

OPEN FORUM:

No members from the community spoke in open forum.

CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS.

Todd Snyder moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 19, 2018 Regular Board Meeting and the April 2, 2018 Special Board Meeting along with the Monthly Cash Distributions/Cash Balance/Investment Report and Budget Amendments. Motion Carried 7-0.

INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

Campus Principals recognized the following students as the 2018 Spring Superintendent Award Recipients:

Primary School:	Pre-K: Sofia Arroyo, Jacob Ayala
<u>O'Dell Elementary:</u>	 1st: Ava Cotton, Caden Ingrum 3rd: Natalie Stuck, Lucas Engle 5th: Naomi Daugherty, Daxon Boudreaux
<u>Celina Elementary:</u>	1 st : Alejandra Ortiz, Kyson Maple 3 rd : Olivia Hancock, Carter Place 5 th : Jake Gerhart, Samantha Quiroz
<u>Celina Junior High:</u>	7 th : Osbaldo Zapuche, Sierra Shepherd
<u>Celina High School:</u>	9 th : Paige Ehrhart, Wyatt Smith 10 th : Avery Montgomery, Bryson Brown

At 7:35 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Safety Brief

At 9:20 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION:

Jeff Gravley moved and Choc Christopher seconded the motion to move forward with items discussed in closed session. Motion carried 7-0.

ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:

Fred Bentsen and Thomas Gifford presented ESS Services to the board. After some discussion Todd Snyder moved and Brooks Barr seconded the motion to approve the contract allowing ESS to service Celina ISD with substitute teachers and staff for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion Carried 7-0.

Campus principals presented each 2018-2019 Campus Improvement Plan to the board. Tracey Balsamo moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve all CIP's as presented. Motion Carried 7-0.

At 9:48 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Personnel

- a. Professional Contracts
- b. Professional Personnel

At 10:59 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION:

Choc Christopher moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for Celina Primary School professional staff. Motion carried 7-0.

Tracey Balsamo moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the contract renewals as recommended by the Superintendent for O'Dell Elementary professional staff. Motion carried 7-0.

Todd Snyder moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the contract renewals as recommended by the Superintendent for Celina Elementary School professional staff. Motion carried 6-0-1 with Chuck Hansen abstaining. Chuck Hansen moved and Choc Christopher seconded the motion to approve the contract renewals as recommended by the Superintendent for Celina 6th Grade Center professional staff. Motion carried 7-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the contract renewals as recommended by the Superintendent for Celina Junior High professional staff. Motion carried 6-0-1 with Brooks Barr abstaining.

Brooks Barr moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the contract renewals as recommended by the Superintendent for Celina High School professional staff. Motion carried 6-0-1 with Choc Christopher abstaining.

Jeff Gravley moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the following new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Motion Carried 7-0.

Jennifer Sutton – Junior High Counselor Lori Harlin – High School Math Courtney Braddock – High School Science

ADJOURNMENT:

Todd Snyder moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 11:02 PM.

Kelly Juergens, President

Jeff Gravley, Secretary