Minutes of Special Meeting

The Board of Education Mahtomedi Public Schools

A **Special Meeting** of the Board of Education of Mahtomedi Public Schools was held **Thursday, November 19, 2020,** beginning at 5:30 PM in the Mahtomedi District Education Center - Community Room, 1520 Mahtomedi Avenue, Mahtomedi, Minnesota 55115

1. CALL TO ORDER

Due to the declared health pandemic and declared state of emergency this school board special meeting was held by conference call or interactive technology in accordance with Minnesota State Statute 13D.021. This meeting was live streamed.

Meeting called to order at 5:38 p.m. by Chair Lucy Payne.

2. ROLL CALL OF ATTENDANCE

Present: Kevin Donovan; Julie McGraw; Lucy Payne; Judy Schwartz; Stacey Stout; and Superintendent Barbara Duffrin, ex-officio.

3. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Donovan moved, Stout seconded, approval of agenda. Roll Call Vote: Donovan-Aye, McGraw-Aye, Payne-Aye, Schwartz-Aye, Stout-Aye. Carried 5-0.

4. ACTION ITEMS

A. Panel Interview of the Final Five Candidates to Fill the School Board Vacancy by Appointment

School Board Chair Lucy Payne reviewed the timeline of the school board vacancy, the appointment process, the required candidate qualifications, the five standards of effective high-performing school boards and the qualities of outstanding school board members. Payne explained the panel interview process, where each candidate would be asked five questions in a randomly chosen rotating order. The candidates will have two minutes to answer each question and the opportunity to make a two-minute closing statement. School Board Chair Lucy Payne welcomed the five finalist: Shawn Bromeland, Paul Donna, David Milbrandt, Steven Ritt and Tony Vosooney and each school board member presented a question to the candidates. After a five minute recess board members discussed which of the five outstanding candidates to move forward. Schwartz moved, Donovan seconded, to move Tony Vosoonsey forward as the appointed candidate. Stout moved to amend the motion to move two candidates forward: Paul Donna and Tony Vosooney. No seconded, motion to move two candidates forward fails. Roll Call Vote: Donovan-Aye, McGraw-Aye, Payne-Aye,

Special Meeting Minutes – Thursday, November 19, 2020

Schwartz-Aye, Stout-Aye. Carried 5-0. Tony Vosooney will be seated at the January 7, 2021 school board meeting and serve until the next school district election takes place.

5. ADJOURNMENT

McGraw moved, Donovan seconded, adjournment. Roll Call Vote: Donovan-Aye, McGraw- Aye, Payne-Aye, Schwartz-Aye, Stout-Aye. Carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:16 p.m.

JULIE MCGRAW, CLERK