# **Denton Independent School District**

# Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, February 11, 2014

# **DENTON HIGH**

### DHS students recognized at national journalism conference

Denton High students attended the recent Journalism Education Association's National Journalism Conference in Boston and placed in several competitions.

Three students placed among the top finishers in three separate categories, competing with more than 6,000 students.

These students included:

**George Roberson,** senior, was awarded a Superior rating in the news editing/headline writing category. This marked the second consecutive year he was awarded the highest honor possible.

Chandler Elsbecker, junior, was awarded a Superior rating in sports writing.

**Jordan Gill,** junior, earned an Honorable Mention in feature writing.

**Greg Bogomol** is the journalism instructor as well as students newspaper and yearbook sponsor at DHS.

#### **GUYER HIGH**

#### Football team honored for winning back-to-back state championships

Guyer High School's football team made history this season, winning the UIL Class 4A Division I State Championship for the second season in a row – the school's first time to win back-to-back state championships in any sport.

The Wildcats finished the regular season with an 8-2 record to claim the District 5-4A title. The victorious season continued:

- In the opening round of the playoffs Guyer defeated Saginaw 69-7 to earn a bidistrict title.
- In the area round of the playoffs, the Wildcats beat Waco 42-13
- In the regional competition, they beat Amarillo 63-21.
- Guyer then clinched a spot in the state semifinals for the fifth time in six seasons with a 53-28 victory over Birdville in a game that was rescheduled twice because of icy conditions.
- In the state semifinals, the Wildcats defeated Highland Park 22-16 in a dramatic come-from-behind victory, scoring all 21 of their points in the fourth quarter.
- In the state championship against undefeated San Antonio Brennan, the wildcats scored the first points and never trailed beating the undefeated team 31-14.
- The Wildcats finished the season winning 14 consecutive games and defeated their playoff opponents by an average of 30 points and ended the season with a 14-2 record.

Guyer players, coaches and staff have established the school as one of the premier football programs in the state, having won two state titles, played in three state championship games and reached the state semifinals five of the eight years the program has existed.

The Guyer coaching staff includes: John Walsh, head coach; Mitch Stovall, offensive coordinator; Lee Vallejo, Jr., co-offensive coordinator; Derek Ramsey, defensive coordinator, Casey Hubble, co-defensive coordinator, and Oschlor Flemming, special teams coordinator.

The assistant coaches include: J.D. Aaron, Jeff Barnett, Jeff Grindle, Zane Jillson, Kyle Keese, Cory Maxwell, Fred Norris, Russ Phillips, Brian Valenzuela, Rick Wesson and Mike Weatherford. The trainers are Jeff Jones and Janna Roper.

#### Congratulations to the Guyer Wildcats including:

1 Adam Scott 4 Austin Luna	2 Jerrod Heard 4 Demarcus Owens	3 D.J. Breedlove 5 Alex Honey
6 Demontrie Taylor	7 David Haynes	8 Trey Woods
9 Tripp Reed	10 Anthony Taylor	11 Jordan Wallace
12 Ian Edwards	13 Logan Helal	14 Erik Ramon
15 Tyler Smith	16 Brandon Daniel	17 Thomas Ferguson
18 Derek Watson	19 Carl Thompson	20 Dale Hodge
21 Will Sanders	22 Jackson Weatherford	23 Marcel Thomas
24 Joe Silvaggio	25 Dharrius Timmons	26 Brady Byrd
27 Isaac Singletary	28 Eric Reyes	29 Dante Ramacher
30 Bryce Brown	31 Collin Clayton	32 Michael Carrillo
33 Nate Maki	34 Jose Carrillo	36 LaithSmadi
37 Brad Grems	38 KolosUrbanyi	39 Jared Jerger
40 Filipe Fontes	41 Albert Carillo	42 Connor Hinchey
43 David Rolon	44 Cameron Wax	45 Tevin McAdams
46 Isiah Correa	47 Jacob Herbig	49 Jomell Mercado
50 Cameron Wax		
51 Bryson Casmir	52 Gunnar Chance	53 Blake Timmons
54 Hunter Krastin	55 Jordan Thompson	58 Kyle Soltero
59 Max Herbig	60 Dylan Palmer	63 Kyle Jaskulske
66 Cesar Vidana	70 Bryan Barrett	71 Austin Colpean
72 Gunner Pinkerton	74 Jerod Fritsch	75 David Fletcher
77 Chad Hickson	78 Sam McCormick	80 Victor Hubbard
81 J.T. Bock	82 Remington Reed	83 Jonathan Pershall
88 J.T. Ashcraft	92 Xavier Brown	98 Jorge Llanos

The student trainers include: Sydney Ariail, Emily Berry, Hannah Chapman, Courtney Colston, Steen Deats, Andi Dotson, Alyssa Gallo, Breely Greenhaw, Ally Kinzy, Carli Marriot, Kathleen Noriega, Chlor Ramos, Elise Stewart, Kaileigh Thompson, Emma Weatherford