Board of Education Organizational Meeting Tuesday, November 14, 2023 6:30 PM Town Campus Hammonasset Room/Zoom 10 Campus Drive Madison, CT 06443

Subject to Approval

Meeting Minutes

I. Call to Order / Attendance

The organizational meeting of the Madison Board of Education was called to order by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Craig Cooke at 6:34 p.m. Dr. Cooke led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Galen Cawley, Mary Ann Connelly, Diane Infantine-Vyce, Seth Klaskin, Maureen Lewis, Christine Maisano, Steven Pynn, Emily Rosenthal

Also present: Gail Dahling-Hench, Assistant Superintendent

II. Action Item: Election of Board Officers (Ref. Bylaw #9420)

II.A. Election of Temporary Board Chairperson

MOTION: by Klaskin, seconded by Rosenthal to elect Galen Cawley as Temporary Board Chairperson.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal NAYS: ABSTAIN: MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

II.B. Election of Board Chairperson

MOTION: by Pynn, seconded by Infantine-Vyce to elect Seth Klaskin as Board Chairperson.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal NAYS: ABSTAIN: MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

II.C. Election of Board Vice-Chairperson

MOTION: by Infantine-Vyce, seconded by Lewis to elect Galen Cawley as Board Vice-Chairperson.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal

NAYS: ABSTAIN: MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

II.D. Election of Board Secretary

MOTION: by Lewis, seconded by Infantine-Vyce to elect Emily Rosenthal as Board Secretary.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal NAYS: ABSTAIN: MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

III. Action Item: Designation of Standing Committee Membership & Liaison Assignments (Ref. Bylaw #9420 & #9450)

III.A. Curriculum & Student Development Committee
Members: Steve Pynn, Chair; Catherine Miller, Mary Ann Connelly
III.B. Facilities Committee
Members: Emily Rosenthal, Chair, Steven Pynn, Diane Infantine-Vyce
III.C. Finance Committee
Members: Galen Cawley, Chair, Christine Maisano, Emily Rosenthal
III.D. Personnel Committee
Members: Maureen Lewis, Chair; Catherine Miller, Mary Ann Connelly
III.E. Policy Committee
Members: Diane Infantine-Vyce, Chair; Maureen Lewis, Galen Cawley
III.F. Capital Improvement Program
Members: Galen Cawley and Emily Rosenthal
III.G. LEARN Liaison
Mary Ann Connelly

MOTION: by Infantine-Vyce, seconded by Rosenthal to approve the Standing Committee Membership and Liaison Assignments.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal NAYS: ABSTAIN:

MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

IV. Public Comment

No members of the public spoke.

V. Adjournment

MOTION: by Infantine-Vyce, seconded by Connelly to adjourn at 6:51 p.m.

AYES: Cawley, Connelly, Infantine-Vyce, Klaskin, Lewis, Maisano, Pynn, Rosenthal NAYS: ABSTAIN: MOTION CARRIED: 8 – 0

The Town of Madison does not discriminate on the basis of disability, and the meeting facilities are ADA accessible. Individuals who need assistance are invited to make their needs known by contacting the Town ADA/Human Resources Director, Debra Ferrante, at 203-245-6310 or by email at ferranted@madisonct.org at least five (5) business days prior to the meeting.