BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING FEBRUARY 10, 2014

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 10, 2014, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Middle School Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Darrell Moore.

Board members present were: Darrell Moore, Steve Keenum, Stephen Lowry, Becky Rentz, Alice Church and Jeff Rogers. Mark McClellan was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Phil Boone, Nick Pruitt, Mike Kerley, Kim McMillan, Lisa Salmon, Terry Hagler, Paul Jensen, Nadine Davis, Rob Goodenough, Ricky Bacon, Aaron Amonett, Mitch Davis, Debbie Lambert, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: See sign-in sheet.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 13, 2014 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CALL SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION & APPROVE CONTRACT WITH TAYLOR COUNTY ELECTIONS OFFICE, CITY OF ABILENE & AISD

Stephen Lowry made a motion to call the school board election on May 10, 2014 and approve the contract with Taylor County Elections Office, AISD, & City of Abilene to conduct joint election. Three places will be up for election: Place #2 - Becky Rentz- (2 year unexpired term), Place #4-Jeff Rogers, and Place #5 - Steve Keenum. Becky Rentz seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

PROGRAM

CONSIDER DRILL TEAM Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve adding drill team program as part of extracurricular offerings. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES FEBRUARY 10, 2014 PAGE TWO

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities and enrollment, Board planning session-February 19, 2014, 2014-15 school calendar update, March School Board Meeting, School security report, Title IV Safe & Drug Free School Compliance report, and Construction update.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:08 P.M. to 8:33 P.M. to discuss administrator's evaluations and contracts.

ADMINISTRATORS CONTRACTS

Stephen Lowry made a motion to extend the contracts of Craig Bessent, Mitch Davis, Nick Pruitt, Carol Smith, Brad McVay, Tony Spradlin, Hugh Sandifer, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Tommy Vaughn, Paul Jensen, Ricky Bacon, Debbie Lambert, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Kim McMillan, Robin McPherson, Aaron Amonett, Tim Smith, Phil Boone, and Shauni Vaughn, until June 30, 2016 as recommended by the superintendent. Alice Church seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Alice Church to adjourn. Official time was 8:34 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	