AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:00 p.m., August 13, 2009, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Carol Gregg

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Matt McGowan, Glenn DeMoss, Michelle DeMoss, Julie Leahy, Stacy Jones, Michael Adkins, Kathy Sanders, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Roy Waggoner, Mike Atkins, Mary Franco, Nelda Loya
- **20612** Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.
- 20613 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **20614 Level III Grievance Hearing for Michelle DeMoss**: A Level III Grievance Hearing for Michelle DeMoss was heard in closed session.
- 20615 Closed Meeting (Level III Grievance Hearing Michelle DeMoss) Personnel Matters – Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or an employee]; Section 551.082 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate a complaint or charge brought against an employee of the school district by another employee]: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 5:02 p.m.

Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 5:40 p.m.

20616 Approval to take Action on Level III Grievance filed by Michelle <u>DeMoss</u>: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Beaty to uphold the Level II decision.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>20617</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 5:41 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna Smith Board Secretary Yollie Wilkins