AT A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD IN THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:00 P.M., OCTOBER 21, 2008, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty DC Carol Gregg Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Roy Waggoner, Kathy Sanders, Ron Davis, Chester Glen Castleman, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Mike Atkins, Mike Adkins, Al Harris, Ann Suiter, Nelda Loya
- **<u>20343</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Special Board of Trustees Meeting to order.
- 20344 <u>Level III Grievance Hearing for Chester Glen Castleman</u>: A Level III Grievance Hearing for Chester Glen Castleman was heard in Open Session.
- 20345 Closed Meeting (Level III Grievance Hearing Chester Glen Castleman) Personnel Matters – Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or an employee]; Section 551.082 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate a complaint or charge brought against an employee of the school district by another employee]: Carol Gregg, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 5:34 PM.

Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 5:42 PM.

20346 Approval to take Action on Level III Grievance filed by Chester Glen Castleman: Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins to uphold the Level II Grievance decision with the corrective actions the District has proposed.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>20347</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Special Board Meeting at 5:43 PM.

Board President Carol Gregg Board Secretary Fay Batch