# **Minutes of the Special Called School Board Meeting**

# The Board of Trustees Sweetwater Independent School District

A Speial Called meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Sweetwater Independent School District was held on Monday, April 28, 2025 at 5:30 pm at the Administration Office, 207 Musgrove St., Sweetwater, Texas.

Members Present: Domingo Castillo, Dennis Cumbie, Mark Garcia, Tasha Soto, Brenda Valdez,
Matt Weaver, Reggie Spencer \*\*Jeff Allen arrived at 6:09

Others Present: Ann Allen, Staci Robertson, Skip Casey

#### 1. Call to Orderr

Mark Garcia called the meeting to order at 5:34 pm and announced a quorum of 6 members were present. Everyone in attendance stood and recited the pledges to the American and Texas flags. Mark Garcia read the Board Social Contract.

### 2. Public Forum

No one was present or had requested by email to address or have a statement read to the Board.

#### 3. Action Items

#### A. Approve TEKS Certification for 2025-2026

Domingo Castillo made the motion to approve the TEKS Certification, seconded by Dennis Cumbie, motion passed 6-0.

B. Approve an agreement with Eichelbaum Wardell Law Firm.

Dennis Cumbie made the motion to approve the agreement with the Eichelbaum Wardell Law Firm, seconded by Domingo Castillo, motion passed 6-0.

## C. Discuss/Reject/Approve contracts

Mr. Spencer made the recommendation to offer probationary principal contracts to Carolyn Mullican at Southeast Elementary and Amy Nixon at Intermediate School for the 2025-26 school

year. Domingo Castillo made the motion to accept this recommendation, seconded by Dennis Cumbie, motion passed 6-0.

4.	Closed Session: Closed Session will be held for purposes permitted by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551 Subchapters D and E.  ****Board went into a Closed Session at – 5:40 pm  ****Board returned to Open Session at – 6:42 pm		
	A. 551.074 Discuss Personnel Matte	rs	
5.	Adjourn		
	Domingo Castillo made the mo	tion to adjourn the seeting at 6:43 pm	
School Board President		Date Approved	
School	l Board Secretary		