AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD IN ADMINISTRATION BUILDING BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., October 12, 2010, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Luis Galvan Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Michael Adkins, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Dr. Karen Kopec, Brian Moersch, Dr. H.T. Sanchez, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman
- Others: Ron Davis, David Harwell, Joe Canady, Edward R. Rios, Sergio Arredondo, Sr., J.R. Allen, Robert Dunn, Cathy Gilleland, James Gilleland, Kathy Sanders, Al Harris, Mike Barker, Mike Atkins, Michelle Edwards, Nelda Loya
- **<u>21101</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Tom Pace, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.
- **21102** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Tom Pace, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **<u>21103</u>** <u>Level III Grievance Hearing</u>: A Level III Grievance Hearing was held in closed session.
- 21104 Closed Meeting (Level III Grievance Hearing Joe Canady, James Gilleland, Larry Farris, Alvin Murray, Sergio Arredondo, Sr., Jim Molina, J.R. Allen, Sam Borrego, Robert Dunn, and Eddie Rios) Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [to deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee, or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee]: Jim Molina removed his name from the list prior to the start of the Board Meeting.

Tom Pace, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:16 p.m.

Tom Pace, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 7:09 p.m.

21105 Approval to take Action on Level III Grievance for Joe Canady, James Gilleland, Larry Farris, Alvin Murray, Sergio Arredondo, Sr., Jim Molina, J.R. Allen, Sam Borrego, Robert Dunn, and Eddie Rios: Jim Molina removed his name from the list prior to the start of the Board Meeting.

Moved by Galvan, seconded by Norwood to uphold the Level II decision and request the District look into this departmental issue.

For: Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Luis Galvan Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace <u>Against</u>: Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

<u>21106</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Tom Pace, Board President, adjourned the Special Board Meeting at 7:11 p.m.

Board President Tom Pace **Board Secretary** *Dr. Donnie Norwood*