Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 15, 2017

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Jeremy Hatcher at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Jeremy Hatcher, Joanna Horton, Brian Fraser, Nancy

Duggan, Chris Taliaferro, Melissa Schick, Joy Willams

Board members absent: None

Administrators attending: James Sanders, Cindy Wiedemann, Chad Collins, Christian

Reed, Grant Miller, Gail Crow, Vickie Griffith, Erik Scott

Guests: Schneider Electric, New Hires

Diane Coursey, secretary and notary, administered the oath of office to the newly elected board members: Joanna Horton and Chris Taliaferro

Nominations were made for the office of President. The following names were submitted: Jeremy Hatcher and Joanna Horton. The vote was (4-3) for Joanna Horton. Voting for Joanna Horton was Melissa Schick, Brian Fraser, Joy Williams, and Joanna Horton. Opposed – Chris Taliaferro, Nancy Duggan, and Jeremy Hatcher.

Nominations were made for the office of Vice President. The name of Jeremy Hatcher was given. No other name was given. Jeremy Hatcher was named Vice President by acclamation. (7-0)

Nominations were made for the office of Secretary. The name of Melissa Schick was given. No other name was given. Melissa Schick was named Secretary by acclamation. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the MOU between S-R ISD police department and Kaufman County Sheriff department. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the purchase of a new bus. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) Fraser opposed

James Sanders, superintendent, and Cindy Wiedemann, business manager discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

The board was called into executive session on May 15, 2017 by President Joanna Horton according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act at 7:11 pm to discuss the contract, duties, reassignment, discipline and evaluation of the superintendent, assistant superintendent, business manager, athletic director, curriculum director, principals, counselors, assistant principals, teachers, and at-will employees. Under 551.06 to review the Safety Audit with the board.

The board returned to open session at 7:51 pm.

Duggan made a motion to hire Kandy Shirey as the 2017-201 elementary school principal. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Cindy Wiedemann, business manager, discussed the proposed 2017-2018 budget with the board.

Duggan made a motion to approve the Audit Energy Service Contract with Schneider Electric. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) Brian Fraser opposed

Adjourn – 8:03 pm	
Joanna Hautan Daard Duasidant	Maliaga Cabiala Dagud Caguatawa
Joanna Horton, Board President	Melissa Schick, Board Secretary