SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING November 18, 2020

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Board President Shannon Silverthorn called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM

ROLL CALL

Shannon Silverthorn, Rebecca Saffold, Shane Scamahorn, and Student Representatives Caitlin Aspery and Kaylee Scamahorn attended via audio/video conference. Sandy Curtis was absent.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: Approval for the agenda

By: Saffold Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 3 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

WELCOME TO VISITORS

Board president Shannon Silverthorn welcomed visitors via audio/video conference: Lisa Cates, Sabrina Marconi, Sharlet Collins, Charles Becker, Brian Krosschell, Carol Randolph, Kara McCoy, Lucienne Smith, Christine Cook

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA

Motion: Approve the consent agenda (10/21/20 regular meeting minutes, 10/29/20 regular meeting minutes, November 2020 financial report, FY 2021 classified employment for: Naukati: Robert Deuel (Wood-fired Boiler Operator), Charles Russell, Jr. (Wood-fired Boiler Operator); Thorne Bay: Maureen Blair (Paraprofessional), Owen Jennings (Student Wood-fired Boiler Operator), Jameson Kurt Kohn (Student Wood-fired Boiler Operator), Scott Mendonsa (Paraprofessional), Emma Nicholson (Paraprofessional)

By: Scamahorn Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 3 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

ADMINISTRATIVE/BOARD REPORTS

Sherry Becker gave the Superintendent's report. Topics included: appreciation for Contracted Business Manager; Employees of the Month (Classified: Tamara Weaver, Certified: Carol Randolph); SISD Team t-shirts; Board Member jackets; wellness challenge; POW COVID-19 hotline; Thorne Bay public hearing for Rainy Lane; the virtual conference for superintendents in Alaska; Governor's new travel mandates; Department reports (additional information on department reports provided by Carol Randolph, Brian Krosschell, Charles Becker, Lisa Cates, Sharlet Collins, and Christine Cook).

Lucienne Smith gave the Business Manager's report. Topics included: the FY 2020 Financial Audit, the upcoming FY 2021 general fund budget revision, E-Rate, the FY 2022 budget timeline, indirect cost rate, and the pupil expenditure report.

Caitlin Aspery and Kaylee Scamahorn shared the Student Board Representative Reports. Topics included science, archery, visits to Hollis and Whale Pass Schools, food service requests, and online classes.

BUSINESS ITEMS

Motion: Approve the Volunteer/Chaperone Packet

By: Saffold Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 3 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

Motion: Appoint Deena Taylor to SISD School Board

By: Scamahorn **Second:** yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 3 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

Deena Taylor took the Oath of Office for Board of Education Seat 2E and was sworn in as a board member with a term expiring at the next regular election in October 2021.

Superintendent Sherry Becker agreed to act as the Legislative Liaison until a board member could be nominated to that position.

Motion: Nominate [Student Representative] Caitlin [Aspery to serve as the Youth

Advocate Liaison]

By: Saffold **Second:** yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 4 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the expenditure [ratification of purchases over \$10,000: Naukati

Fire System Repair]

By: Taylor **Second**: yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 4 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the Memorandum of Agreement for Hollis School Commissioning

By: Saffold Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed

Board Vote: 4 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: passed

ADVANCE PLANNING

The next regular Board meeting will be on January 20, 2021 with a work session starting at 4 PM [this was later changed to January 21, 2021 with the work session starting at 4:30 PM].

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

BOARD COMMENT

Rebecca Saffold commented welcoming Deena Taylor to the Board. Shannon Silverthorn welcomed the new board members and new student board representatives.

Motion: Adjourn By: Saffold Second: yes Student Representative Vote: 2 in favor; 0 opposed Board Vote: 4 in favor; 0 opposed Resolved: passed Time: 6:45 PM Shannon Silverthorn, Board President Date

Date

Sandy Curtis, Board Clerk