### **Minutes of Regular Meeting**

# The Board of Trustees Sunray ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Sunray ISD was held Monday, April 13, 2015, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Board Room at 400 E. 7th Street (Rear Entrance).

## 1. Roll Call at Boardroom at 7:00 pm. Pledges and Prayer

Members present: Brian Lee, Shelby Taylor, Merrill Harp, Richard Crowley, Jennifer Goolsby, Stacie Nelson, Scott Peeples, and Brian Thompson

Other individuals present: Marlin Ham, Arianna Gallegos, Tyler Miller, S. Perez, Keathlyn Perez, Nathan Marquez, Joanie Hightower, Brett Marquez, Phil Hightower, Jason Miller, Anthony Benacomo, Mackenzie Stokes, Sabrina Harrison, Maryn Hatfield, Hannah Morris, Chris Morris, Jose, Delma Stokes, Sharon Trahern, Tori Trahern, Lourdes Rodriguez, Ron Morris, Pat Armstrong, Chad Ely, Kurt Haberthur, Pam Keisling, Stacie Jones, and Sid Whiteley.

#### 2. Consent Agenda

Information on these items has been sent to the Board of Trustees for review prior to the meeting. Any Board member may pull any item from the consent agenda (without a second) for deliberation prior to consideration. Any item pulled will be considered with the business items on the agenda.

- A. Approval of minutes of previous meetings on March 23, 2015
- B. Approval of expenditures
- C. Approval of the SCAD 2016 Budget
- D. Approval of the Moore County Tax Collection Contract

Merrill Harp made the motion to accept and approve the consent agenda as presented. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

#### 3. Business

#### A. Personnel

The meeting was called into closed session as authorized by the Texas Open Meeting Act, Texas Government Code, §551.074 at 7:17 PM for the purpose of discussing personnel. At 9:31 PM, the meeting was called back into regular session.

1. Evaluations/Contracts/Renewals/Proposed Nonrenewals

#### a. NWTSSA Diagnosticians & Speech Therapist

One year Term contract

Cindy Franklin Maegan Hulett Julie Logsdon

Kim Rousser Brenda Stringer

Terri Teig – Non-chapter 21 contract

Richard Crowley made the motion to approve the contracts for the Diagnosticians and Speech Therapist as presented. Jennifer Goolsby seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

#### b. Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff

 Consideration and possible action Regarding Renewal/Proposed Nonrenewal of Term Contracts of Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff Under Texas Education Code Chapter 21

#### **One Year Term Contract**

Elementary School			
Lucy Burkett	Debbie Thompson	Ronna Mayfield	
Dee Ann Woodward	Barbara Miller	Sharly Seiler	
Amy Nelson	Ramonda Raymond	Shianne Andujo	
Belinda Craig	Erin Reid	Marlin Ham	
Connie Walker	Starla Smith	Sharon Trahern	
Diane Thompson	Esmeralda McDowell		
Middle School			
Katherine Carney	Angaleta Crenshaw	Jennifer Ford	
JJ Haberthur	Mary Beth Jones	Janet Pipkin	
Luke Roberson	Steven Livingston	Lidia Rodriguez	
Ivana Sonen			
High School			
Sandra Blankenship	Beverly Brewer	Steve Cripps	
Joe Holloway	Leanne Holloway	Sandy Walker	
Kim Lee	Donna Milner	Sharon Moore	
Cody McDowell	Delma Stokes	Mary Taylor	

Shelby Taylor made the motion to approve the term contracts as presented. Scott Peeples seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

 Consideration and possible Action Regarding Renewal of Probationary Contracts/Termination of Probationary Contracts at the end of the Contract Term for Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff Under Texas Education Code Chapter 21

#### **One Year Probationary Contract**

Elementary School

Alesha Tomlinson Kyndall Jones Brittney Livingston

Middle School

Brandy Holloway Carrie Potts

High School

Dana Boswell Jason Miller Caitlyn Rice Callie Sims Nicole Spurlock Marsha Wathen

Stormi Lancaster

Merrill Harp made the motion to approve the one year probationary contract as presented. Jennifer Goolsby seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

#### 2. Resignations

7/8 Science Teacher

Stacy Nelson made the motion to accept Vanessa Ford's resignation. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

#### B. Interquest Detection Canines

Approve Contract for K-9 Agreement for 2015-2016 School Year

Stacy Nelson made the motion to approve the Interquest Detection Canine Contract for the 2015-16 school year. Scott Peeples seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

C. Discussion and possible action on changing the start time of the May 18, 2015 Board Meeting

Shelby Taylor made the motion to change the start time of the May 18, 2015 Board Meeting to 8 PM from 7 PM. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried

D. Discussion and possible action on moving regular June Board Meeting.

Item tabled until the May Board Meeting

E. Discussion and possible action to approve piloting the New Teacher/Principal Appraisal System in 2015-16

Merrill Harp made the motion to approve piloting the New Teacher/Principal

Appraisal System in 2015-2016 school year. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

F. Discussion and possible action on the elimination of PreK tuition for 2015-16 except for transfer students

Richard Crowley made the motion to eliminate Pre-K tuition for residential students the 2015-16 school year: charging transfer students \$500.00 per semester for those who do not qualify. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (7-0) motion carried.

#### 4. Superintendent Remarks

- A. Appreciation Banquet on April 27, 2015
- B. At-Will employees will be given a letter of reasonable assurance in May
- C. TASB Spring Board Workshop at WTAMU on May 20, 2015
- D. TASB 2015 Summer Leadership Institutes
  - 1. San Antonio on June 11-13, 2015
  - 2. Fort Worth on June 18-20, 2015
- E. State of the District

#### 5. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 PM by Board President, Brian Lee.

Attested:		
	Brian Lee, Board President	Merrill Harp, Board Secretary