SUPPORTING AGENDA DATA BOARD OF DIRECTORS, EDUCATION SERVICE CENTER, REGION 20

June 28, 2017

SUBJECT: SUPPLEMENTAL COMPENSATION FOR PROFESSIONALS 2017-2018

EXPLANATION: 2002-2003

Article 3.50-8, Texas Insurance Code, as a result of HB 3343, established that active, contributing Teacher Retirement System (TRS) members receive an annual state supplemental compensation amount of \$1,000.

2003-2004

Article 3.50-8, Texas Insurance Code, amended by HB 3459 Passed by the 78th Legislative Session, Regular Session

Signed by the Governor on June 10, 2003

Established that, effective September 1, 2003, active, contributing TRS, <u>non</u>professional members receive an annual state supplemental amount of \$250 (18.75 – 29 hours work week) and \$500 (30 hours or more work week). Nonprofessionals are defined by *TRS Rule 41.42*, *Payment of Supplemental Compensation*.

2006-2007

Amends Subchapter D, Health Care Supplementation, Education Code Chapter 22, and adds 42.2513 to Subchapter E, Financing the Program.

Passed by the 79th Legislative Session, 3rd C.S. Effective May 26, 2006.

Re-named the Compensation Supplementation program to Health Care Supplementation. Existing statutory language on the amount of the compensation supplementation, as well as the state funding and distribution, is replaced with provisions for a wage increase that provides similar levels of compensation.

2017-2018

It is recommended that the Center continue to provide a select group (based on TRS definition) of professional, active, contributing TRS members the same supplemental compensation amount that will be granted to nonprofessionals by TEA. The estimated cost of the Center's supplemental compensation to professional TRS members is expected to cost the Center approximately \$38,000.

ACTION: It is recommended that the following resolution be adopted:

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Board of Directors approves the Center payment of supplemental compensation (\$250/\$500) to professional, active, contributing TRS members, to become effective September 1, 2017.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Goldhorn Executive Director