### Minutes State Board Meeting May 30, 2024

Present: Ken Bragg; Leigh Keener; Jacob Olivia, ADE Secretary

**ZOOM:** Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair; Kathy Rollins, Vice-Chair; Lisa Hunter; Adrienne Woods

Absent: Randy Henderson; Jeff Wood; Capri Salaam, 2023 Arkansas Teacher of the Year

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Thursday, May 30, 2024. Dr. Sarah Moore called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM, followed by a moment of silence.

#### **Changes to Agenda**

None

#### **Action Agenda**

### IV.1. Huntsville Public School District's One-Year Standards for Accreditation Request

Item IV.1. was presented by Ms. Hope Worsham, Assistant Commissioner of Public School Accountability. Also present via Zoom were Mr. Jonathan Warren, Superintendent, Huntsville School District and Ms. Kaelea Hawkins, Principal, Huntsville Intermediate School.

Huntsville District requested a one-year waiver of Standards for Accreditation 1-A.5 Class Size for one art instructor. The waiver was initially presented to the State Board on May 9, 2024, by the Huntsville Intermediate School Principal, Ms. Kaela Hawkins. The Huntsville School District will employ a paraprofessional to assist the classroom teacher.

A motion to approve the waiver of Standards for Accreditation 1-A.5 Class Size for one year was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Mr. Ken Bragg. The motion unanimously passed.

# IV.2. Consideration of Request for Approval of the Arkansas Better Chance Program Renewal Grants FY25

Item IV.2. was presented by Ms. Tonya Williams, Assistant Commissioner of the Office of Early Childhood.

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education - Office of Early Childhood - Arkansas Better Chance (ABC) requested approval of the ABC Program Renewal Grants for the 2024-2025 school year in the amount of \$106,072,095.

The requested funds for the ABC renewal grants will provide early childhood services for children birth to 5 years old. Services will be provided through 227 agencies that oversee 525 sites, serving 23,228 children in both center-based and home visiting settings. These programs employ 3,509 early childhood teachers, paraprofessionals, and program coordinators.

ABC also requested to support foster children, as well as homeless/displaced children as the need arises. ABC provides waivers for the identified children to receive immediate services. The placement of a foster child and/or displaced child in an ABC program would add a per child award above the total awarded number of slots for that program during the 2024-2025 year.

A motion to approve the Arkansas Better Chance Program Renewal Grants FY25 was made by Ms. Leigh Keener, seconded by Mr. Ken Bragg. The motion unanimously passed.

# IV.3. Consideration of Request for Approval of the Arkansas Better Chance Professional Service Grants FY25

Item IV.2. was presented by Ms. Tonya Williams, Assistant Commissioner.

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education - Office of Early Childhood - Arkansas Better Chance (ABC) requested approval of the ABC Program Professional Service Grants for the 2024-2025 school year in the amount of \$5,983,230.

ABC Professional Service Grants support quality programming for children by providing 3,529 ABC Early Childhood teachers, paraprofessionals, coordinators, and school administrators with training, coaching, technical assistance, and services to ensure high quality early learning environments and positive outcomes for children. ABC Early Childhood staff are required to complete 30 hours annually of Early Childhood Professional Development in the areas of Arkansas Child Development and Early Learning Standards: Birth through 60 Months, Family Engagement, Trauma-Informed Care, Child Growth and Development, Health and Wellness, domain-specific content in the areas of Emergent and Foundational Language and Literacy based on the Science of Reading, Numeracy, Promoting Social and Emotional Health and Executive Function Skills, Use of Child Assessment to Gage Kindergarten Readiness, using data to guide early childhood development, and the Continuous Quality Improvement System.

A motion to approve the Arkansas Better Chance Program Professional Service Grants FY25 was made by Ms. Leigh Keener, seconded by Mr. Ken Bragg. The motion unanimously passed.

## IV.4. Appointment of a State Board of Education Nominating Committee

Item IV.4. was presented by Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair.

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair recommended the following three State Board members to serve as the Nominating Committee:

- Mr. Randy Henderson
- Ms. Lisa Hunter, and

Ms. Adrienne Woods.
A motion to approve the Chair's recommendations for the Nominating Committee was made Ms. Leigh Keener, seconded by Mr. Ken Bragg. The motion unanimously passed.
New Business
None
Public Comments
None
Adjournment
Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair, adjourned the State Board meeting at 11:01 AM.
Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.
Jacob Oliva, Secretary Arkansas Department of Education  Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair State Board of Education