## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING APRIL 12, 2021

Como-Pickton School Board met in regular session with the following members present: Jim Murray, Brittney Smith, D J Carr, Mark Humphrey, and Jessica Pegues. J J Cummings and Shiloh Childress were absent.

Brittney Smith led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Students of the Month were recognized:

Elementary – Laney Kempenaar Junior High – Daisy Munoz High School – Leslie Hernandez

Julie Weir was recognized as Teacher of the Month.

Dr. Bower recognized Mark Humphrey for his 16 years' service as a board member.

Motion by Mark Humphrey, seconded by Jim Murray, to approve the consent agenda as presented, which included:

- (A) Minutes from the March board meeting.
- (B) Expenditures for April, 2021.

The motion carried 5-0.

The administration team presented the School Snapshot Report and Board Goal Report.

Dr. Bower reported that paraprofessional and auxiliary employees would receive tradition yearly raises for the 2021-2022 school year.

Motion by Mark Humphrey, seconded by Jim Murray, to discontinue the food service contract with SFE, effective the 2021-2022 school year. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Mark Humphrey, seconded by Brittney Smith, to appoint Danetta Carpenter, Patty Pulgarin, and Monica Tapley as early voting clerks. The motion carried 5-0.

Monthly financial and tax collection reports were reviewed.

## SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS

- 1. All employees that wanted COVID vaccinations were able to get one.
- 2. COVID numbers: 0 student active cases, 30 recovered; 0 staff active cases, 9 recovered.
- 3. Softball record is 23-1-1, Baseball record is 10-6-1
- 4. Dr. Bower has accepted the appointment as Pastor for Caney Baptist Church in Pickton.

5. Staff awards for the year were presented:

Elementary Teacher of the Year – Stephanie Buster

Jr. High Teacher of the Year – Linda Panter

High School Teacher of the Year, and Secondary Teacher of the Year 
Shelly Anderson

Bus/Maintenance/Cafeteria Employee of the Year – Jason Blanchard Newcomer of the Year – Carrie Williams Support Staff Employee of the Year – Ann Schoonhoven Eagle Spirit Award – Holly Self

- 6. Next school board meeting is May 10, at 6:00 p.m.
- 7. Dr. Bower will contact all candidates and board members with election results.
- 8. Dr. Bower will use four vacation days the rest of this week.

Motion by Mark Humphrey, and seconded by Jim Murray, to adjourn at 7:54 p.m. The motion carried 5-0.