# **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the January 9, 2023 - School Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a workshop session on January 9, 2023 at 5:36 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Neena Biswas (arrived 5:41 p.m.) and Jobby Mathew

A quorum was present.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar, Dr. Angie Brooks, Kristen Eichel, Dr. Dennis Womack, Amanda Simpson, Naveen Boppana, and Rory Butkovich

Notice of this meeting was posted on January 5, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

## **OPEN FORUM**

No individuals from the community requested to address the Board of Trustees in the Open Forum section of the meeting:

At 5:37 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 5:48 p.m.

### **ACTION**

A motion to approve the Superintendent's recommendation for the employment of professional personnel was made by Leigh Walker and seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion carried 7-0.

### **WORK SESSION**

Board Members discussed the 2023-2024 budget process with input as needed provided by Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer), Dr. Angie Brooks (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction), Kristen Eichel (Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services) and Dr. Dennis Womack, (Chief Operations Officer).

Nichole Bentley made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Jobby Mathew seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 8:19 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President	
Nichole Bentley, Secretary	