REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The Celina independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, May 19, 2014 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado, Celina, TX 75009 in the Board Room.

There was no dinner session for this meeting.

At 7:30 PM Board President Choc Christopher called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Choc Christopher led the pledge and Todd Snyder gave the invocation.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Choc Christopher, Jeff Gravley, Kelly Juergens, Pam Peters, and Todd Snyder and Tim Looper.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chuck Hansen.

SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT: Donny O'Dell, Rick DeMasters, Starlynn Wells, Bill Hemby, Lori Gibbs, Lew Kennedy, John Mathews, Raychel Hammons, Yvonne Garner, Paige Juergens, Vivianne Alvarado, Paula Moore, JoAnna Bennett, Lori Henderson, April Covington, Bill Elliott and Lana Brooks.

OPEN FORUM: Mr. Kramer thanked the Board for starting the Junior High Girls Soccer team and let them know how well the season went.

CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS.

Kelly Juergens moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the April 21, 2014 Regular Board Meeting along with the Monthly Cash Distributions/Cash Balance/Investment Report and Budget Amendments. Motion Carried 6-0.

INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

Mr. O'Dell and the campus principals presented the Teacher of the Year and Staff of the Year to the Board.

Teacher of the Year	Support Staff of the Year
---------------------	---------------------------

Elementary – April Covington	Raychel Hammons
Intermediate – Lori Henderson	Yvonne Garner
Middle School – Joanna Bennett	Paige Juergens
High School – Paula Moore	Vivianne Alvarado

A short break was taken to give teachers and guests the opportunity to leave if they wanted to.

As requested by the Board, Mr. O'Dell gave the Board members a copy of the job description for the Elementary and Secondary District Director of Instruction. He explained the specific programs would be split between the two Directors. Starlynn Wells will be the Pre-K – 6 Director of Instruction and Karen Walker will take over the 7-12 Instruction.

The Board discussed when to hold the June Board meeting. The decision was made on June 23, 2014 to have the public meeting and discussion regarding the 2014-2015 Budget/Tax Rate and June 30, 2014 to discuss and approve the 2013-2014 Final Amended Budget.

Mr. O'Dell discussed with the Board the upcoming Memorial Day holiday to confirm that day as a Student/Teacher holiday and not a make-up day for the district.

ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:

Lana Brooks administered the Oath of Office to incumbents Tim Looper and Jeff Gravley.

Choc Christopher moved and Tim Looper seconded the motion to keep Kelly Juergens as the Secretary of the Board. Motion Carried 5-0-1 with Kelly Juergens abstaining.

Jeff Gravley moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to keep Pam Peters as the Vice-President of the Board. Motion Carried 5-0-1 with Pam Peters abstaining.

Pam Peters moved and Kelly Juergens seconded the motion to keep Choc Christopher as President of the Board. Motion Carried 5-0-1 with Choc Christopher abstaining.

Jeff Gravley moved and Kelly Juergens seconded the motion to approve Update 99. Motion Carried 6-0.

Pam Peters moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to have Chuck Hansen, Kelly Juergens, and Todd Snyder serve on the budget team with budget workshops to be set at a later date. Motion Carried 6-0.

After some discussion Jeff Gravley moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the change in wording of FDA(LOCAL) to *not accepting transfers to the District*. Motion Carried 6-0.

Tim Looper moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the TXU Energy Contract for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion Carried 6-0.

At 8:57 PM Choc Christopher recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Personnel

- 1. Administrative
 - a. Secondary Curriculum Karen Walker
- 2. Professional
 - a. Middle School Counselor
 - b. High School Art
 - c. High School Physics
 - d. High School Business
 - e. High School Family & Consumer Science

At 9:40 PM Choc Christopher recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION: Pam Peters moved and Kelly Juergens seconded the motion to hire new personnel as follows:

Rhonda Lowe – MS Counselor Mario Moran - HS Art Kristina Flemming – HS Physics Danielle DeYonker – HS Business Melessa Barbnecht – HS Family & Consumer Science

Motion Carried 6-0.

Pam Peters moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to hire Karen Walker as the Secondary District Director of Instruction. Motion Carried 6-0.

ADJOURNMENT:

Tim Looper moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 PM.

Choc Christopher, President				
 Kelly Juerge	ens. Secr	etarv		