AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING  $2^{ND}$  FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM E, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., February 13, 2007, with the following members:

#### Present:

Absent: Doyle Woodall

Ray Beaty DC Renda Berryhill Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Randy Rives Dr. Donna C. Smith

- School Officials: Wendell Sollis, Dr. Joe Gallegos, Irene Granado, Alma Guerrero, Wendy Hines, Margaret Lehr, Hector Mendez, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Brenda Bentley, Lisa Wills, Charlie Osborne, Paul Jimenez, LaVern Shan, Bruce Davis, Chuck Isner, Carolyn Gonzalez, Wayne Squiers, Carolton Johnson, Andrea Martin, Ruby Rodriguez, Sha Burdsal, Sally Navarro, Roy Garcia, Cindy Harbour, Sylvia Sanchez, Lu Cleere, Al Harris, Dr. Karen Johnson, Nelda Guerra
- <u>19677</u> <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order. *Ray Beaty, DC and Carol Gregg were absent for this portion of the Board Meeting.*
- **19678** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Randy Rives, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting. Ray Beaty, DC and Carol Gregg were absent for this portion of the Board Meeting.
- 19679 Request for Approval to Modify 2006-2007 District Instructional Calendar: Moved by Rives, seconded by Foreman to approve the recommendation to change the Bad Weather Make-up Day from April 6 to April 23 and make May 25 an additional Bad Weather day. Ray Beaty, DC and Carol Gregg were absent for this portion of the Board Meeting.

The following citizen addressed the Board:

Margie A. Frasier 2102 N. Washington Odessa, TX 79761

Motion unanimously approved.

#### Special Board Meeting February 13, 2007

# **<u>19680</u>** Area III Principals' Academic Presentation: The following Area III Principals' Academic Presentations were made:

Lamar EEC	Brenda Bentley, Principal
Blackshear Magnet	Sally Navarro, Principal
Burnet Elementary	Lisa Wills, Principal
Cameron Elementary	Sha Burdsal, Principal
Cavazos Elementary	Wayne Squiers, Principal
Fly Elementary	Charles Osborne, Principal
Pease Elementary	Carolyn Gonzalez, Principal
San Jacinto Elementary	Cindy Harbour, Principal
Zavala Magnet	LaVern Shan, Principal

### BREAK – 7:16 p.m. RECONVENE – 7:21 p.m.

Bonham Jr. High	Paul Jimenez, Assistant Principal
Ector Jr. High	Roy Garcia, Principal
Permian High School	Bruce Davis, Principal

## Ray Beaty, DC and Carol Gregg were present for this portion and remainder of the Board Meeting.

- **19681 Board Member Addressed the Board of Trustees:** Ray Beaty, DC, Board Member, addressed the Board of Trustees with regard to the modification of the 2006-2007 District Instructional Calendar.
- **<u>19682</u>** <u>Adjournment</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 7:59 p.m.

Board President Randy Rives Board Secretary
Doyle Woodall