

Date: April 30, 2012

To: Mr. David Meadows

From: Kay Bishop

Mary Ann Plasencia

Julie Mattox

RE: May Recognitions

Attached for you is a request for permission to present these TPSD students and staff to the Board of Trustees for public recognition.

1. THS Students Attend Rotary Leadership Conference

Darrell Hadley Zierra Long Ray Patrick Navneet Singh

2. THS 9th Grader Wins Law Day Art Contest

Sabrina Crumpton Holly Walker - THS Art Teacher

3. <u>Duke University Talent Identification Program</u>

TMS 7th Graders

William Bradford

Cameron Hunt

Noah Hunt - Grand Recognition

Charles Johnson

Katherine Pate

Maren Thorderson

Nathaniel Threadgill

Lauren Wilson

Justin Zosel

4th - 6th Grade Talent Search

Lawhon

Grace Logan

Rankin

Walker Gibens

Lawndale

Zion James

Sean Milner

Charles Penson

Dearirreis Vance

Jordan Wayne

Jordan Whitehead

Jackson Rhoades

4. THS Honor Choir

Tanner Collum

Maggie Davis

Kristen Hare

Holly Harrington

Jacob Harrison

Rachel Holman

Austin Kinsey

Allison Nichols

Stuart Rial

Hope Smith

Sami Whitwell

Hunter York

Choral Teachers - Debbie Bullock, Susie White Williams, and Danielle Frerer

5. THS Students Win Awards at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association

The Album Staff Yearbook Individual Awards:

Monica Bhula - Title Page Design - 1st Place Colleen Haadsma - Ad Design 1st Place and 3rd Place Colleen Haadsma - Photo Illustration - 2nd Place Colleen Haadsma - Portrait Photography - 2nd Place Dorie Stewart - News/Feature Photography - 2nd Place

Hi-Times Newspaper Individual Awards:

Samantha Mello-News Writing-first place Katie Cagle-Feature Photo-first place

Jordan Jones-Inside Page Design-second place Ryan Murphy-Nameplate Design-second place Abby Condit -Editorial Writing-third place Kenya Ashby-Features-honorable mention Baxter Geddie-Sports Writing-honorable mention Abby Hunt-Sports Photography-honorable mention Juliana Norton-Entertainment Writing-honorable mention

Shari Chumley - THS Journalism Teacher

6. TPSD GumTree Writing Awards POETRY

IOLIKI	
Kindergarten	3 rd Place - Charlie Gratz - Carver
2 nd Grade	1 st Place - Luke Carpenter - Joyner
	2 nd Place - Lindley Gibens - Joyner
	3 rd Place - Mamie McGraw - Lawhon
	3 rd Place - Dayla Anderson - Parkway
3 rd Grade	1st Place - Avery Tate - Lawhon
	2 nd Place - Sarah Claire Miller - Lawhon
	3 rd Place - Aundraya Garmon - Rankin
	3 rd Place - Jordyn Wyms - Rankin
4 th Grade	1st Place - Maury Johnston - Lawhon
	2 nd Place - Hailey Scruggs - Lawhon
5 th Grade	1st Place - Erykah Williams - Lawndale
	2 nd Place - Quarneisha Gray - Lawndale
	3 rd Place - Rosie McWhirter - Lawndale
6 th Grade	1 st Place - Albert Logan - Milam
	2 nd Place - Zariah Bean - Milam
	3 rd Place - Hayden Henderson - Milam
8 th Grade	1 st Place - Mamie Clark - TMS
9 th Grade	1 st Place - Allison Nichols - THS
	2 nd Place - Emily Wright - THS
	3 rd Place - Mary Ellen Cobb - THS
12 th Grade	1st Place - Mason Tudor - THS
	2 nd Place - Courtney DeLambert - THS
	3 rd Place - Skye Palmer - THS

NARRATIVE

2nd Place - Cole Koslo - Carver 1st Grade 2nd Grade 3rd Place - Nicholas Gransinger - Parkway 2nd Place - Jordyn Smith - Rankin 3rd Grade 3rd Place - John Braxton Daughdrill - Rankin 1st Place - Jolia Pangetti - Rankin 4th Grade 2nd Place - Taylor Chapman - Pierce 3rd Place - Caleb Ball - Pierce 5th Grade 1st Place - Maria Kaltchenko - Pierce 3rd Place - Sara Frances Wolfe - Rankin 6th Grade 1st Place - Sawyer Tucker - Milam 3rd Place - Hollyann Friloux - Milam 3rd Place - Jordan Manley - Milam 8th Grade 3rd Place - Emma Counce - TMS 1st Place - Bethany Fitts - THS 9th Grade 2nd Place - Monica Acosta - THS 3rd Place - Macy Replogle - THS 10th Grade 1st Place - Megan Pirkle - THS 11th Grade 1st Place - Lauren Ostrander - THS

7. GumTree Art Awards

Senior Scholarship Portfolio Competition

Emily Cobb Ben Aldridge Megan Sudduth

Special Distinction Portfolios

Elizabeth Burleson

Judges' Choice Tenth Grade

Larkin Hudson Mathilda Lail

Eleventh Grade

Hannah Farmer Rachael Holman Casey Marshall Shannon Shepherd Emma Kate Daniels

Twelfth Grade

Emily Cobb

Walker Hannah Megan Sudduth

Merit Awards Ninth Grade

Autumn Ferguson

Tenth Grade

Cayman Bell Makoto Dijkwel

Blake Dixon

Kylie Hobson

Larkin Hudson

Katherine Huang

Abby Stafford

Jimmy Stone

Eleventh Grade

Kelsey Burnis

Emma Kate Daniels

Emily Davidson

Clayton Jarvis

Paige Knapp

Casey Marshall

Carol Ann McClellan

Brigid McCool

Caitlin Milne

Tristian Nabors

Alaina Newby

Claire Newcomer

Shannon Shepherd

Kaylen Webb

Twelfth Grade

Ben Aldridge

Ariel Alexander

Emily Anderson

Elizabeth Burleson

Alyssa Calmes

Emily Cobb

Javarious Harris

Taylor Gurley

Ta' Boris Osborne

Bounmie Rasavong

James Sharp