DRAFT

Minutes of the November 30, 2020 – Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a work session on November 30, 2020, at 4:13 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by Vice President, David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher; Manish Sethi and Leigh Walker. A quorum was present.

Neena Biswas, newly elected Board Member was also present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on November 19, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

On November 30, 2020, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on November 3, 2020. A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees at that time.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Neena Biswas (Place 4) and David Caviness (Place 5).

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Dr. Greg Axelson, Stephen McGilvray, and Naveen Boppana

OPEN FORUM

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum section of the meeting:

At 4:19 p.m., Vice President David Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters and Section 551.071 – Attorney Consultation.

Vice President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 5:34 p.m.

WORKSESSION TOPICS:

Information on the Long-Range Facilities Planning was provided by Dr. Greg Axelson, Chief Operations Officer and Stephen McGilvray, Executive Director of Technology, along with representatives from True North presented the report regarding the Comprehensive Technology Assessment.

DRAFT

ACTION

Vice President David Caviness conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

Tracy Fisher nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Leigh Walker nominated to elect David Caviness to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Nichole Bentley was elected to the office of President by a vote of 4-3.

Nichole Bentley nominated to elect Leigh Walker to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. No other nominations were put forward. Leigh Walker was elected to the office of Vice President by a vote of 7-0.

Anthony Hill nominated to elect Manish Sethi to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. No other nominations were put forward. Manish Sethi was elected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 7-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Tracy Fisher made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:26 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President

Manish Sethi, Secretary