## **School Counselor Appreciation**

The North Slope Borough School District Board of Education would like to recognize the following school counselors for their hard work and dedication to our students and communities:

- Carlene Hockema, Fred Ipalook Elementary School
- Cathy Williams, Tikigaq School
- Cheryl Yucum, Meade River School
- ❖ David Bauer, Alak School
- ❖ Deb Alverson, Nuigsut Trapper School
- ❖ Jennifer Brower, Kiita Learning Community
- ❖ Jocelyn Niedziela, Barrow High School
- ❖ Lorrie Scoles, Harold Kaveolook School
- ❖ Marissa Garcia De Leon, Nunamiut School
- ❖ Sable Marandi, Eben Hopson Middle School
- ❖ Sharon Lemmert, Kali School

School counselors play a valuable role in educating the whole child as outlined in the Strategic Plan, which includes career planning, social/emotional wellness, and academic success. At its most fundamental level, school counselors promote and enhance the learning process for all students ensuring the academic, career and personal/social development of students.

## **School Board Appreciation**

The Association of Alaska School Boards Board of Directors recognizes February as School Board Recognition Month for their contribution to their community. Each member represents their community's views and priorities by reinforcing the principle of local control over public education, supporting student achievement, and rooting our learning in the values, history, and language of the Iñupiat. It is a privilege to work with these dedicated individuals who are committed to the continuing success of our school district and time spent with the District:

- ❖ Qaiyaan Harcharek, 2014
- Nora Jane Burns, 2015
- ❖ Muriel Brower, 2018
- ❖ Madeline Hickman, 2018
- Nancy Rock, 2019
- \* Robyn Burke, 2020
- ❖ Frieda Nageak, 2020