AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., November 15, 2016, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Ray Beaty, D.C.
Dr. Steve Brown
Teri Ervin
Carol Gregg
Nelson Minyard
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith Garinger,

Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch,

Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Tristan Specter, Marcos Lopez, Patricia Forester, Jody

Forester, Lexia Forester, Janet Bell, Rosa Hernandez, Anthony G. Garza, Carla Byrne, Tanya Galindo, Shelly Horton, Charles Carlson, David Heath, Mary Jane Hutchins, Mauricio Marquez, Jason Thomas, Amy Anderson, John Gillian, Jason Osborne, Ann McClarty, Marlane Burns, Jim Leascher, Derrick Conway, Cynthia

McNabb, Elaine Sparks, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Teri Ervin, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Edward K. Downing Elementary Students Jose Corral and Josue Gael Rodriguez.

23553 Invocation: Invocation was led by Dr. Dawn Weaks, First Christian Church

23554 Special Presentations:

(The first special presentation, Honor our Troops was not on the agenda.)

Honor our Troops (H.O.T.): Superintendent Tom Crowe introduced Jim Leascher who was joined by Sergeants Gerrado and Perez. Mr. Leacher expressed his appreciation to the District for raising more than \$6,250 through donations they received during halftime of the OHS vs. PHS football game on October 28, both high school JROTC students passed donation buckets in the stands. This donation will provide more than 270 care packages for our troops. Honor our Troops is a non-profit organization founded on the realization that too many troops don't receive the love and support that they deserve. With the help of donors they ensure that the men and women serving the US military know that their sacrifice is not going unnoticed.

Introduction of Odessa High School Guitar Program: Executive Director of Fine Arts Mark Lyon along with Odessa High School Guitar teacher Jose Campos introduced thirteen classical guitar students. The students graced Trustees and all attendees with a beautiful performance. (They also performed in the board room prior to the start of the meeting)

World Class Leader in Education: Public Information Officer Mike Adkins introduced Dowling Elementary Cafeteria Manager Rosa Hernandez who was recognized as the November World Class Leader in Education.

Texas Capitol House Chamber Christmas Tree Ornament Winners: Fine Arts Coordinator John Gillian along with State Representative Brooks Landgraf introduced the Texas Capitol House Chamber Christmas Tree Ornament winner and runners-up:

Elementary Runner-up:

Kindergartener Alyssa Thomas Hays Elementary

Middle School Runner-up:

Madison Gipson 8th Grader Wilson & Young Medal of Honor MS

High School Runner-up:

Permian HS Lexia Forester Senior

Winner of Christmas Ornament Design for the Texas Capitol House Chamber

Christmas Tree:

Jacob Garcia 5th Grader Burleson Elementary

Jacob's ornament will hang at the Capitol in Austin from December 4, 2016 – January 3, 2017.

Recognition of Permian High School Band UIL State Qualifier: Executive Director of Fine Arts Mark Lyon along with Permian High School Band Director Jeff Whitaker, Assistant Band Directors Dr. Lindsay Eiben, John Carroll, Trey Burns, and Majorette Instructor Pam Brewer who in turn introduced Student Leader Representatives of the PHS Marching Band. The Band was recognized for earning a position in the UIL State Marching Band Contest. The band was one of 40 bands selected to compete at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

Recognition of Red Ribbon Week Contest Winners: Lamar Early Education Center and Wilson & Young Medal of Honor Middle School were recognized as the Red Ribbon Week Foyer Decorating Contest Winners.

Recognition of United Way Top Fundraisers: The following Campuses and Department were recognized as the top United Way fundraisers. ECISD contributed a total of \$72,942.60 to United Way 2016 Campaign.

Secondary: Crockett JHS \$10,224.80 Elementary: Travis Elementary \$4,323.45 Department: School Nutrition \$2,472.50

<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Teri Ervin, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

23556 Request for Approval of Appointment of Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Member: The Appointment of Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Member approved as voted by ballot.

The first vote resulted in a tie, therefore a second vote was taken.

<u>Parent Member Applicants – One (1) Open Position:</u>

Sarah Keitges Three (4) Votes Heather McKenzie Three (3) Votes

The following will serve on the committee as a parent member for a two year term:

Sarah Keitges

Approved as voted by ballot.

23557 Request for Approval of Superintendent's Appraisal Instrument: Moved by Brown, seconded by Minyard to approve the recommended Appraisal Instrument to be provided to the Campus and District Improvement Teams for consultation and input before instrument is finalized.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **<u>Request for Approval of Consent Agenda:</u>** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Brown to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
 - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

September 20, 2016 – Regular Board Meeting October 11, 2016 – Board Work Study Meeting October 18, 2016 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000
- Request for Approval of Permian High School Satin Strings Out-of-State Travel to Canada
- 6. Request for Approval of Innovative Courses
- 7. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report
- 8. Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #2

| 9. Re | eauest to | r Approval | ot | Annual | Financial | Report |
|-------|-----------|------------|----|--------|-----------|--------|
|-------|-----------|------------|----|--------|-----------|--------|

For: Abstained: Brown Beaty Ervin Gregg Minyard

Smith Woodall

Motion passed.

Donna Smith asked for reconsideration of the approval of the consent agenda with the exception of Item 4 - Purchases over \$50,000.

Moved by Gregg, seconded by Brown to reconsider the approval of the consent agenda with the exception of Item 4 – Purchases over \$50,000.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for the Approval of Purchases over \$50,000: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Brown to approve Purchases over \$50,000 to include and accept the Medical Center ProCare Agreement with the provision to provide Trustees with a report on actual cost every 3 months.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No session held.

23560 Information Items: The Financials were provided to the Board of Trustees as information only.

No action required.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Teri Ervin, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:06 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Teri Wheat Ervin, MEd

Ray Beaty, D.C.