# ORDER OF BUSINESS FOR THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING SCHEDULED FOR THE MINEOLA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT TO BE HELD IN THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING AT 7:00 P.M., MAY 20, 2019---MINUTES

#### A. Call to Order

Executed by Board President, Dr. John Abbott, at 7:01 p.m.

#### **Roll Call**

Establishment of a quorum:

Dr. John Abbott, President Dr. Kyle Gully, Vice President Carlist Brinkley - Secretary Daniel Louderman Jay McGough Kellam Newell

#### B. Invocation, Pledges and Introductions

Invocation was led by Dr. John Abbott.

**Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag and the Texas Flag** was led by Carlist Brinkley.

#### E. Oath of Office

Mary Ann Roseberry administered the Oath of Office to Glen Dossett, Jill Quiambao, and Jackie Lee Rodieck who were certified as candidates and thereby elected in accordance with Section 2.053(a) of the Texas Election Code.

Board members and their term expiration year are as follows:

Dr. John Abbott	2020
Dr. Kyle Gully	2020
Daniel Louderman	2021
Jay McGough	2021
Glen Dossett	2022
Jill Quiambao	2022
Jackie Lee Rodieck	2022

#### F. Reorganization of Board of Trustees

Dr. Abbott opened the floor for nominations for President of the Board of Trustees. Jill Quiambao nominated Dr. Kyle Gully and Jay McGough nominated Dr. John Abbott. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Dr. Abbott called for votes in favor of Dr. Kyle Gully. The vote was 2 for and 5 against. Dr. Abbott called for votes in favor of Dr. John Abbott. The vote was 5 for and 2 against. Dr. John Abbott was elected President of the Board of Trustees. Dr. Abbott opened the floor for nominations for Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Daniel Louderman nominated Jay McGough. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Dr. Abbott called for votes in favor of Jay McGough. The vote was 7 for and 0 against. Jay McGough was elected Vice President of the Board of Trustees.

Dr. Abbott opened the floor for nominations for Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Dr. John Abbott nominated nominated Dr. Kyle Gully. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Dr. Abbott called for votes in favor of Dr. Kyle Gully. The vote was 7 for and 0 against. **Dr. Kyle Gully was elected Secretary of the Board of Trustees.** 

#### G. Information Reports and discussion Items (No Action Required)

1. Financial Report for April

Mr. Bjork presented the financial report for April

## 2. Tax Collection Report for April

Mr. Bjork presented the tax report for April

## 3. Enrollment/Attendance Report

Each month during the school year the board is given an enrollment/attendance report that gives enrollment numbers and attendance percentages by grade, campus, and district. Dr. Tunnell reviewed the report.

#### H. Public Forum (Public Comments)

Mr. Greg Hollen, a Mineola City Council member, spoke and thanked David Sauer and the MHS senior class for their work in the community on Seniors Give Back Day.

# I. Action Items

- 1. Consent Agenda
  - a. Minutes of Meeting Held by the Mineola I.S.D. Board of Trustees on April 15, 2019 (Regular Meeting), and April 25, 2019, May 2, 2019, May 7, 2019 (Special Called Meetings)
  - b. Local Vendor List for 2019-2020
  - c. Consider approval of Memorandum of Understanding with Tyler Junior College

A motion was made by Dr. Kyle Gully and seconded by Jay McGough to approve the (a) Minutes of meetings held by the Mineola I.S.D. Board of Trustees - April 15, 2019 (Regular Meeting), and April 25, 2019, May 2, 2019, May 7, 2019 (Special Called Meetings); and (b) the Local Vendor List for 2019-2020 (c) Memorandum of Understanding with Tyler Junior College. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

- 2. New and Unfinished Action Items
  - a. Consider approval of adjustment to contribution of Mineola ISD to

#### **TRS-ActiveCare Health Insurance**

A motion was made by Dr. Kyle Gully and seconded by Jill Quiambao to approve an additional \$11 added to the district's contribution (currently \$367 per employee) to TRS-ActiveCare Health Insurance. The new total will be \$378. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

#### b. Consider acceptance of TEA Focus 1 Perkins Reserve Grant in the amount of \$636,332 and TEA Focus 2 Perkins Reserve Grant in the amount of \$16,580

A motion was made by Jill Quiambao and seconded by Daniel Louderman to accept the TEA Focus 1 Perkins Reserve Grant in the amount of \$636,332 and TEA Focus 2 Perkins Reserve Grant in the amount of \$16,580. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

#### c. Consider acceptance of high bid received for Resale Property Cause **#T-3854.**

A motion was made by Dr. Kyle Gully and seconded by Jay McGough to accept the high bid of \$821, received by Roy and Cindy Oliphant, for Resale Property Cause #T-3854.

#### **Motion Carried 7-0**

#### d. Consider acceptance of high bid received for Resale Property Cause **#T-1090**

A motion was made by Dr. Kyle Gully and seconded by Jay McGough to acceptance of high bid of \$1,800, received by Juan Torres for Resale Property Cause #T-1090. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

#### J. **Superintendent Reports**

#### 1. Facilities and Summer Projects

Dr. Tunnell reviewed facilities and summer projects

#### K. **Upcoming District Events and Announcements**

Dr. Tunnell made announcements and reviewed upcoming district events.

#### L. **Executive Session – Section 551.074, Texas Government Code** Personnel (Appointment, Employment, Evaluation, Reassignment of Duties, Discipline, Dismissal, and Complaint)

The board presiding officer, Dr. John Abbott, made the following announcement in open session prior to the closed session: "At this time the board has business pertinent to Texas Government Code Section 551.074, which should be conducted in closed session. Let the Official Minutes indicate that closed session is now declared at 8:47 p.m., on Monday, May 20, 2019, for the Mineola Independent School District Board of School Trustees."

The board presiding officer made the following announcement at the end of closed session: "Let the Official Minutes indicate that the Board entered open session at 9:33 p.m., May 20, 2019. The floor is now open for business."

#### M. Consider information and action items discussed in Executive Session

#### 1. Resignations

Dr. Tunnell announced the resignations of Stephen Almuete, Tyler Broadhurst, Nancy Flournoy, Laquetta Howard, Nick Shutak, Ryan Simmons, Jennifer Taylor, Kerry Van Cleave (from coaching only), and Dusty Whisenhunt

#### 2. Consider approval of professional contracts for 2019-2020

A motion was made by Dr. Kyle Gully and seconded by Jay McGough to extend a probationary contract pursuant to Mineola I.S.D. Board Policy and Administrative Regulation, subject to assignment and reassignment, and commensurate with current board policy and established salary schedule for school professional staff to **Bradley Armendariz**, **Kay Bachert**, **Thomas Clement**, **Lauren Grindle**, **Haley Holmes**, **Mary Ledbetter**, **Jayme Mason**, **and Katherine Murphree** 

and

to extend a probationary dual contract pursuant to Mineola I.S.D. Board Policy and Administrative Regulation, subject to assignment and reassignment, and commensurate with current board policy and established salary schedule for school professional staff to **Derek Smith and Dakota Heinaman** and

to extend a term contract pursuant to Mineola I.S.D. Board Policy and Administrative Regulation, subject to assignment and reassignment, and commensurate with current board policy and established salary schedule for school professional staff to **Kerry Van Cleave Motion Carried 7-0** 

#### N. Adjournment

Board President, Dr. John Abbott, adjourned the meeting at 9:34 p.m.

#### APPROVED THIS 17th DAY OF JUNE, 2019.

**Board President** 

**Board Secretary**