AT A BOARD WORKSHOP MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., February 11, 2020, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:
Dr. Steve Brown
Tammy Hawkins
Nelson Minyard

Delma Abalos Carol Gregg

Absent:

Dr. Donna Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Dr. Scott Muri, Mike Adkins, Dr. Stephanie Howard, Art Martin, Dr.

Lilia Náñez, Dr. Gregory Nelson, Alicia Syverson, Dr. Kellie Wilks,

Patrick Young

Others: Mike Atkins, Omega Loera, Barbara Digby, Jennifer Bizzell, Heather

Bland, Dave Irek, Penny Arnold, Rosalita Garcia, Carla Byrne, Stacy Johnson, Lisa Wills, Esperanza Gomez, Annette Macias, Robert Cedillo, Johnna Rosson, Alicia Press, Dalia Benavides, Tyler Press Anthony Garcia, Selena Juarez, Evyn Juarez, Santiago Ortiz, Cassie Waddell, Deborah Johnson, Laura Perez, Alicia Garcia, Fallon McLane, Paula Dannheim, Brian Ellington, Tiffany Rickman, Eliseo Gomez, Nancy Vanley, Melissa Roth, Andrea Martin, Julia Willett-Weekly, Julie Marshall, Claudia Richards, Ruth Campbell, Mary

Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Verification of Compliance with the Open Meetings Law – this is to certify that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with the public notice of this meeting: Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith certified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code had been met in connection with the public notice of this meeting.

No action required.

<u>Opening Remarks by Superintendent</u>: Superintendent Dr. Scott Muri opened the meeting by offering congratulations to Deputy Superintendent Dr. Stephanie Howard on being selected for the National Superintendents Academy. The Academy has a very rigorous application process. He said it speaks well of her skill set and her determination to invest in herself and continuous learning.

Public Comment: No public comment.

Report/Discussion Items

Review of Campus Turn Around Plans 2019-2020: Executive Director of Accountability Annette Macias along with Associate Superintendent Dr. Lilia Náñez, Executive Director of Elementary Alicia Press, Executive Directors of Secondary Dalia Benavides and Robert Cedillo presented this item for discussion. Trustees reviewed campus turnaround plans which are required for the four schools that are currently in their second year with an F Rating. The campus Turn Around Plans have been written to be implemented by each campus for the next 3 years if they are unable to earn the "Met Standard" designation. Campuses required to submit Turn Around Plans are Bowie MS, Crockett MS, Wilson & Young MS, and Burnet Elementary. The schools have been working on strategies for improvement, and building this plan since early in the school year. In addition to learning about the Texas Education Agency requirements for these plans, Trustees were also able to see how these schools are progressing on district and unit assessments so far this year.

No action required.

Presentation for Advanced Academic Services February 11, 2020:
Associate Superintendent Dr. Lilia Náñez along with Director of Advanced Academic Services Omega Loera presented this item for discussion. Advanced Academics is responsible for ECISD's Gifted & Talented program, Honors courses for grades 6-10, Pre-Advanced Placement classes, Advanced Placement courses, International Baccalaureate courses, Decathlon and Octathlon teams and competitions, Chess for Champs and Camp SIP (Scholars in Progress) summer camp. More than 3,000 elementary students are in the Gifted & Talented program, and more than 10,000 students district-wide are involved in the various Advanced Academics courses and programs.

No action required.

<u>24987</u> Presentation and Recognition of Aspiring Principals' Academy 2019-2020: Trustees were introduced to those selected to be part of the Aspiring Principals Academy. The APA is designed to promote leadership capacity in current educators who are interested in pursuing a campus administrative position. There was an application process for the academy, and administrators chosen will commit to training sessions after hours to learn more about leadership. The following assistant principals were selected for the Academy: Jance Morris, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Hector Limon, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Thaddeus McCalister, Assistant Principal Odessa High School; Senovio Ortiz, Assistant Principal Crockett Middle School; Fallon McLane, Assistant Principal San Jacinto Elementary; Jennifer Bizzell, Assistant Principal Jordan Elementary: Paula Dannheim, Assistant Principal Hays STEAM Academy; Christopher Hancock, Dean of Students New Tech Odessa; Tiffany Rickman, Assistant Principal Blackshear Magnet Elementary.

No action required.

Possible Request for Approval to Move to Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code - [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee of the District; or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee.]

(Board will deliberate the hiring of a Principal for Burnet Elementary):

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:35 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 7:47 p.m.

Request for and Possible Approval of Personnel: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Brown to approve Mayela Sanchez Serrano as the new principal for Burnet Elementary School.

No action required.

- **<u>24990</u>** Closing Remarks by Superintendent: No closing remarks.
- **24991** Adjournment: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:27 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Dr. Donna C. Smith

Tammy Hawkins