Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Thursday, February 23, 2012, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office, 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Rick Dunham – Vice-President, Gary Schniederjan – Secretary, Doug Claborn – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, David Steele – H S Principal, Denice Hutchinson – H S Asst. Principal, John Machel – J H Principal, Mark McCormick – Intermediate School Principal, Scott Hand – Dir. of Technology, Diane Cody – Dir. of Special Education, and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: Janet Banks – Board Member, Peter Baumert – Board Member Visitors: Jim McDaniel, Zelda Beth Lang, Tisha Scott, Bridget Nicholson, Laura Amaya and High School student council members.

- 12478. Call to Order President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.
- 12479. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12480. Student/Teacher Presentations None
- 12481. Audience with:

Patrons - None

Students – High School Student Council made a presentation to board on possibly purchasing some trees to go around Dalhart High School.

Staff – Ms. Amaya is the High School Student Council sponsor and introduced the High School Student Council.

Tisha Scott and Bridget Nicholson informed the board of P E programs scheduled for March 8, 2012, at 5:30 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. to be performed at Dalhart High School.

12482. Consider and discuss E-rate bid and application for Dalhart ISD – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to accept the E-rate bids for technology for funding year beginning July 1, 2012 thru June 30, 2013. The bids were awarded as follows: Web Hosting to Edline in the anticipated annual amount of \$2,076.26, Phone Service in the anticipated annual amount of \$15,650.00, Video Conference in the anticipated annual amount of \$2,302.00 and

Internet Access in the anticipated annual amount of \$6,762.00. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12483. Consider EOC (End of Course) assessment in relation to credits and GPA (Grade Point Average). – Mr. Foote advised the board that the Commissioner of Education has granted schools the ability to defer the requirement that the EOC count 15% of the final course grade for the 2011 – 2012 school year. Mr. Foote recommends that the 15% GPA component be deferred a year for Dalhart ISD secondary students. It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Rick Dunham to defer the 15% component for the school year of 2011 – 2012.
Yeas: Claborn Dunham Lloyd Schniederjan and Sherrill

Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

- 12484. Consider and discuss NCLB (No Child Left Behind) Report Card Mr. Foote provided each of the board members copies of the NCLB report card.
- 12485. Update on Dalhart Intermediate School auditorium and second floor. Mr. Foote gave the board an update on the work that is being done and that the flooring for the second floor is scheduled to begin installation on the afternoon of March 9, 2012.
- 12486. Update on School Improvement Plans for Dalhart High School and Dalhart Junior High – Mr. Steele and Mr. Machel said they were in the middle of the current testing phase and the information has been sent to Mr. John Lemons and he has concluded that the information is accurate and Dalhart ISD at this time has forwarded the information on to TEA (Texas Education Agency) and the next testing phase is scheduled for March 2012.
- 12487. Consider Shared Services Arrangement for Regional Day School Program for the Deaf – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the participation in the Shared Services Arrangement for Regional Day School Program for the Deaf. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12488. Discuss 2012 2013 school calendars Mr. Foote went over the four (4) calendars that have been built for the 2012 – 2013 school year and stated that the DEIC (District Education Improvement Committee) had chosen calendar #3, which is attached. Mr. Foote recommended that the board adopt calendar #3. It was moved by Rick Dunham and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to adopt calendar #3 for the 2012 – 2013 school year.
 Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill

Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12489. Consider and discuss changing local sick leave days to just leave days

It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to approve the changing of local sick leave days to just leave days beginning with the 2012 – 2013 school year.
Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

- 12490. Update on Superintendent Goals It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to adopt the Superintendent Goals as amended, Goal # 5 the following should be dropped from the goal "...to waive deposit fees." Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12491. Superintendent's Report Mr. Foote gave a brief Superintendent's report.
- 12492. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

Financial Reports

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the consent agenda: minutes of regular meeting held on Jan. 16, 2012, minutes of special meeting held on Jan. 26, 2012, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for January 2012. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating and Air bills

- 12493. Discussion on legal agreement on existing Ch. 313 contract with Hilmar Cheese – Mr. Foote and Mr. Lloyd gave a brief overview of the Ch. 313 agreement and the discussion with Hilmar Cheese.
- 12494. Personnel:

Resignations have been accepted from Carolyn Field and Gloria Enser from XIT Campus.

David Foote reported that the following administrators contracts have been extended:

Diane Cody, Scott Hand, Denice Hutchinson, John Machel, Mark McCormick, Sarah Nutter, David Steele, Karen Taft, Stephen Young and Delbert Dodds. This extends these contracts through the 2013 – 2014 school year.

It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Randy Sherrill to grant 20 days extended leave to Susie Rodriquez, Annie Beedle, and Brandy Blanco as recommended. Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None

12495. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 8:31 p.m.