SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING September 21, 2016

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Board President Heidi Young called the meeting to order at 5:37 PM

ROLL CALL

Present were Heidi Young and Shannon Silverthorn. Attending via VTC were Molly Kimzey, Sabrina Adamson, and Sandra Nessett.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: Approve the agenda

By: Nessett Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor: 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

WELCOME TO VISITORS

Board President Heidi Young welcomed visitors – in Thorne Bay: Sarah Richards, Alan Schwab, Shane Scamahorn, Colter Barnes, Priscilla Goulding, Janet Stout, Margie Eads, Kara McCoy, Lucienne Smith, Nick Higson; in Naukati: Jessica Goldman, Laura Cooper; in Port Alexander: Allen Erickson; in Coffman Cove: Keane Richards; in Hyder: Amanda Glover, Chad Dillman, Virginia Pulley; in Hollis: Julie Vasquez, Lisa Cates.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Nick Higson commented and played a video regarding the Hyder School playground.

APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA

Motion: Approve the consent agenda [Approval of the August 17, 2016 Regular Meeting Minutes; Approval of the August 29, 2016 Special Meeting Minutes; Approval of the September 2016 Financial Report; Approval of FY17 Certified Contract Addendums for Priscilla Goulding, Amy McDonald, Lisa Cates, Julie Vasquez, Keane Richards, Chadwick Dillman, Jessica Goldman, Laura Anania, Allen Erickson, Megan Fitzpatrick, Mark Gunkel, Sheila Nyquest, Leah Russell, Christine Cook, Isaac Martin, Shane Scamahorn; Approval of FY17 Lead Teacher Contracts: for Laura Anania, Christine Cook, Chadwick Dillman, Jessica Goldman,

Shane Scamahorn, Julie Vasquez; Approval of FY17 Classified Contracts: Districtwide: LaNeice Congdon (technology assistant); Barry C Stewart Kasaan: Jessica West (paraprofessional); Hollis: Nick Brazille (bus route driver), George Vasquez (intensive paraprofessional), Cathy Starkweather (food service/custodian), Kyler Looper (food service), Barbara Moots (intensive sign interpreter paraprofessional/intensive bus monitor), Tammy Watkins (intensive paraprofessional/paraprofessional/data clerk), Roger Cates (intensive student transportation); Howard Valentine Coffman Cove: Lexie Hayes (food service), Judy Adamson (paraprofessional/custodian); Hyder: Verna Carey (food service), Amanda Glover (paraprofessional); Naukati: Lisa Howell (paraprofessional), Venessa Richter (intensive paraprofessional), Robert Deuval (food service), Paul Howell (custodian); Port Alexander: Shanna Smith (paraprofessional), Earl Durdle (maintenance technician), Paul Young (custodian), Ghinger Erickson (food service): Thorne Bay: Sandra Campbell (paraprofessional), Charlie Straight (food service freight), Mike Plate (intensive paraprofessional), Earlene Ingman (intensive paraprofessional), Sue Edson (intensive paraprofessional/paraprofessional), Travis Campbell (paraprofessional), Phil Clark (bus route driver), Terri Kohn (bus route driver); Whale Pass: Connie Plante (custodian), Kayleena Toman (food service), Angela Wakefield (paraprofessional), Sarah Vasser (intensive paraprofessional); Approval of FY17 Extra Duty Contracts for Christine Plate (assistant activities director, concession stand coordinator), Shane Scamahorn (activities director)]

By: Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

ADMINISTRATIVE/BOARD REPORTS

Lauren Burch gave the Superintendent's report. Topics included: staff, bullying, student count, wood-fired boilers, grants, Friday activities, the Thorne Bay Café, AmeriCorps Workers, and recommendations on action items.

Lucienne Smith gave the Business Manager's report. Topics included: enrollment, the FY16 financial audit, Food Service program review and average daily membership

ACTION ITEMS

Motion: Approve hiring the AmeriCorps worker for 6 months [for the position

outlined in the Superintendent's 9/21/16 Board Report]

By: Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Table [Coalition for Eduation Equity of Alaska 2016-2017 membership

dues] until the next meeting

By: Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the FY17 Teacher Handbook

By: Young **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the addendum to the FY17 Cooperative Agreement with Hydaburg

City School District

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Appoint Heidi Young and Shannon Silverthorn to be [board] representatives to [the bargaining team for negotiating] the collective bargaining agreement [between Southeast Island School District and Southeast Island Education

Association] **By:** Kimzey **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Move [BP 3550], Food Service to second reading

By: Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Move [BP 5040] Student Nutrition and Physical Activity to second reading

By: yes Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the FY17 Memorandum of Agreement with Craig City School

District for grant reporting and assessment services

By: Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

ADVANCE PLANNING

The next regular Board meeting will be on Wednesday, October 26, 2106 at 5:30 PM. The meeting will be preceded by a workshop for a board self-evaluation at 4:30 PM.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Chris Page Haufe commented regarding the application period for Student Board Representative.

BOARD COMMENT

Sandra Nessett commented her thanks for the opportunity to serve on the board.

EXECUTIVE SESSIONS

Motion: Adjourn By: Kimzey Second: yes Board Vote: Resolved: Time:

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Adjourn By: Kimzey Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion carried

Time: 6:35 PM

Heidi Young, Board President	Date	
Shannon Silverthorn, Board Clerk	 Date	