MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS NOVEMBER 9, 2018

The special meeting of the Board of Education, Bemidji Area Schools, Bemidji, Beltrami/Hubbard Counties, Minnesota, was held on Friday, November 9, 2018, at 7:30 a.m., in the District Office Board Room.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Melissa Bahr, Carol L. Johnson, Jeff Haack, John Gonzalez,

Shawn Whiting, and Superintendent Tim Lutz

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ann Long Voelkner

Taylor Gish, Student Representative

Xavier Michael-Young, Student Representative

CALL TO ORDER: 7:35 a.m. .

Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes Cast for School District Election

Jeff Haack introduced the following resolution and urged its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 6th, 2018, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 15633 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of three school board members for four year term vacancies caused by expiration of terms on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Four Year Term:

Carol L. Johnson	6099
Sarah Young	5332
Jeffrey Lind	4457
Shawn Whiting	4431
Jack Aakhus	4392
Wenona Kingbird	4126
Gary Rozman	2489
Bonnie Solomon	2056
Write-Ins	<u>160</u>
Total Votes	33542

- 3. Carol L. Johnson, Sarah Young and Jeffrey Lind, having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2019.
- 4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Melissa Bahr, and a tabulation of votes is as follows:

AYES: Shawn Whiting, Jeff Haack, Melissa Bahr, John Gonzalez, and Carol L. Johnson

NOES: None

ABSENT: Ann Long Voelkner

WHEREUPON, said resolution was declared passed and adopted.

Resolution Authorizing Issuance of Certificates of Election and Directing School District Clerk to Perform Other Election Related Duties

Melissa Bahr introduced the following resolution and urged its adoption:

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION AND DIRECTING SCHOOL DISTRICT CLERK TO PERFORM OTHER ELECTION RELATED DUTIES

WHEREAS, the board has canvassed the election for school board members held November 6th, 2018.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, as follows:

- 1. The chair and clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board of Independent School District No. 31 to the following candidates:
 - A. Carol L. Johnson
 - B. Sarah Young
 - C. Jeffrey Lind

who have received a sufficiently large number of votes to be elected to fill vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on January 1, next following the election, based on the results of the canvass.

- 2. Certificates of elections shall be in substantially the form attached hereto.
- 3. After the time for contesting the election has passed, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail.
- 4. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificates, a form of acceptance of office and oath of office in substantially the form attached hereto.

The above resolution was seconded by John Gonzalez, and a tabulation of votes is as follows:

AYES: John Gonzalez, Shawn Whiting, Melissa Bahr, Jeff Haack, and Carol L. Johnson

NOES: None

ABSENT: Ann Long Voelkner

WHEREUPON said resolution was declared passed and adopted.

Adjournment

The motion	was of	fered by Je	ff Haack,	seconded by	/ Shawn	Whiting,	and carried	by atter	ndance
to adjourn.	Time:	7:40 a.m.							

Jeff Haack, Clerk	Date Approved				
Carol L. Johnson, Chair	Date Approved				