MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

April 21, 2011

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session April 21, 2011 in the Blue Bonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Board members absent were: Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary and Maria Elena Lara, member.

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the March 22, 2011 meeting were read and approved as presented by Hector Gonzales, Dean of Instructional Services and CFO.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Hector Gonzales, Joe Barker, Willie Edwards, Barbara Blair, Wade Carpenter, Ismael Martinez, Luis Fernandez, Gilbert Bermea, Terri Tucker, Richard Flores, Anne Tarski, and Karen Baen. Also in attendance was Jessica Chaves of the Uvalde Leader News staff.

Luis Fernandez was recognized as Coach of the Year for the South Texas Club Sports League.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to approve the resolution honoring Harry Lawrence for 50 years of service. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the financial statement as of March 31, 2011 as presented by Anne Tarski, Controller. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to consolidate the Building Use fee and the Off-campus fee into a General Use fee as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the Catalog changes for 2011 - 2013. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to establish College Policy CIB (Local). Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez "I move that the board add, revise, or delete (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 26 with no changes" and seconded by Tony T. Moreno. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 7:50 p.m. to consider personnel matters.

Upon returning to open session at 7:57 p.m., a motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to award tenure to Carlos Ramos. Motion carried unanimously. The recommendation is attached.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:05 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of t	he Board
	Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness