Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1778 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting - April 10, 2017

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, April 10, 2017 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present:	Chris Teague, President Lupe Mancha, Vice-President John Sawyer, Secretary Norman Baker Gerardo Carbajal Stephanie Johnson Amanda Scarborough
	Amanda Scarborougn

Members absent: None

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, Kathy Groppel, Keith Hannah, Mickey Kunkel, Brandy Matus, Jason Matus, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Sharee Osten, Cathy Patterson, Haley Patterson, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Stephanie Tucker, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Norman Baker. Chris Teague led the pledge.

Chris Teague, Place 1, and Amanda Scarborough, At-Large, resigned from their seats on the board.

Lupe Mancha, Vice-President took over the meeting.

15403 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to nominate Chris Teague to fill the vacant At-Large position and Amanda Scarborough to fill the vacant Place 1 position on the board.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Chris Teague and Amanda Scarborough completed their Statement of Officer and were given the Oath of Office by Judge Matt Crain.

4743

15404 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to reorganize the board with President – Chris Teague, Vice-President – Lupe Mancha, Secretary – John Sawyer.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

Chris Teague took over leading the meeting.

Public Comments – Brandy Matus spoke as a concerned parent of a Hillsboro Junior High Student.

15405 – Motion by Norman Baker, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the consent agenda with no change.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

Correspondence to the board – A thank you note was read from Nancy Steele's family thanking the board for the memorial book. Another thank you card was read from Amanda Scarborough thanking the board for the plant and book placed in the HIS library in memory of her father-in-law, Frank Scarborough.

15406 – Motion by Norman Baker, seconded by Lupe Mancha to accept the roof bid from Parson's Commercial Roofing and authorize the superintendent to approve changes/additions up to the insured claim amount.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

15407 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the Curriculum Resources of CTE, LOTE, and ESL materials.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

15408 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve adding an innovative career and technology education course at the High School.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

15409 – Motion by Norman Baker, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve Chartwell's amendment number four.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

The SHAC report was given to the board by Angela Boyd. SHAC has plans to continue with the Good to Go, Head to Toe event this August.

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet. Kathy Groppel shared SHARS cost reporting numbers with the board.

Principals gave a verbal Bright Spots report to the board about great things happening on their campuses.

Stephanie Tucker gave a Special Instructional Report on HIS happenings.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
- Hillsboro ISD intends to apply for federal funds
- Hillsboro Eagles Spring Relays, May 17th @ Eagle Field
- TASB Summer Leadership
 - San Antonio June 15 17
 - \circ Ft. Worth June 22 24
- April is Autism Awareness Month
- Date for canvassing the election May 11th @ 7:30 am

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #19 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #20 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:49 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:47 p.m.

15411 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the superintendent's recommendation on re-employment of Daisy Abreu, Misty Abshire, Annette Abt, Laura Adams, Michael Back, Kendra Bailey, Felipe Barragan, Bill Bates, Jacob Baze, Alyssa Bedrick, Jan Beebe, Jennifer Beggs, Melissa Beseda, Rameisha Blackshear, Kyle Bodeker, Kimberly Bogue, Melissa Brake, Melanie Bruckbauer, Scott Burgess, David Burns, Crystal Buxkemper, Kimberly Camp, Dodd Carmichael, Randi

4746

Castillo, Michael Chirhart, Jan Cole, Cheryl Comer, Gary Comer, Cristal Compean, Teresa Corbisier, Cristina Covarrubias, Laurie Creech, Terri Curry, Jeff Darden, Kyle Davis,

Tabatha Davis, Vicki Dobbs, Glenn Doyle, Pamela Dunn, Gwendonlyn Dupree, Lori Dyess, Vicki Ellison, Kandy Faris, Jennifer Faulknor, Ryan Finley, Aleshia Fleming, Lucas Florence, Tammy Fry, Jersey Gates, Ralph Gawhen, Adameliz Gomez, Tammy Gooden, Donna Green, Jamie Greenberg, Rosalinda Grindstaff, Bertha Guerrero, Meagan Hafer, Molly Hale, Brittany Hamilton, Courtenay Hamilton, Pamela Hamilton, Jeff Hawkins, Malissa Hawkins, Jesse Hayes, Lena Hearin, Gerrie Henderson, Courney Hewitt, Lindsey Higgins, Kimberley Hill, Stephnia Houston, Ashley Johnson, Derrick Jones, Terra Jones, Aimee Kasprzyk, Rick Kleine, Sarah Korn, Terri Lee, Ladonna Lewis, Laurie Lewis, Erin Lobato, Wendy Logue, Donald Ray Long, Carol Mabry, Kenna Marek, Dayna Marshall, Sara Massey, Kellie Mathis, Stephanie Mathis, Laurie McDonald, Taylor McIntosh, Heather McKethan, Kristen McKinney, Robin Merkel, Cheryl Milner, Rebecca Moore, Janel Morris, Laura Moulder, Brenna Muscatell, Damaris Nuuanu, Elbayadira Orellana, Amanda Owens, Shae Owens, Ericka Parker, Maria Patino, Carrie Patrick, Haley Patterson, Olivia Peasley, Amy Peavy, Marsha Phillips, Katie Pierce, Katherine Polley, Larry Powell, Sharon Powell, Marion Ramos, Patricia Ramos, John Robertson, Christine Robinson, Courtney Robinson, Linette Rogers, Amanda Rounsavall, Jordyn Russell, Gaila Sanders, Taylor Sanders, Bryan Schneider, Lauren Schneider, Mary Joe Schronk, Donovan Scott, Cassandra Sexton, Logan Simmons, Amanda Slaten, Chris Smith, Lesleigh Smith, Tayler Smith, Danielle Spencer, Joey Spencer, Michaela Spicer, Melisa Springfield, Michelle Steele, Stephanie Stephens, Josh Stepp, Sterling Stewart, Annette Straw, Rose Strona, Edward Sumrall, Jeremy Sweeney, Dawn Syverson, Ann Teel, Elizabeth Thompson, Carrie Timpf, Tabetha Tucker, Cory Vaughn, Megan Vaughn, Kate Versluis, Paula Veselka, Crystal Volcik, Sherry Wakeland, Breana Watson, Danielle Webber, Brittney Wilson, Eric Woods, William Woody, Wendy Wright and hiring Dana Marshall.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

15411 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha for the meeting to be adjourned at 7:47 p.m.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

President

Secretary