MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING MAY 11, 2015

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, May 11, 2015, at 6:30 p.m. at the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Ray Templeton.

Board members present were: Darrell Moore, Stephen Lowry, Ray Templeton, Jeff Rogers, and Steve Keenum. Mike Awtry and Mark McClellan were absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Tommy Vaughn, Nick Pruitt, Brad McVay, Craig Bessent, Lisa Bessent, Nadine Davis, Robin McPherson, Tim Smith, Will Amonett, Brewer, McMillan, Lisa Salmon, Terry Hagler, Rob Goodenough, Mike Kerley, Mitch Davis, Phil Boone, Carol Smith and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The Board recognized the DI teams that advanced to Globals competition in Tennessee.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING APPROVED

The minutes of the April 13, 2015 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Ray Templeton and seconded by Jeff Rogers.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

PUBLIC INPUT ON TITLE FUNDS

A public hearing was conducted regarding the use of the 2014-15 Title funds.

CONSIDER APPROVAL TO EXTEND BANK

Darrell Moore made a motion to extend our depository contract with Prosperity Bank **DEPOSITORY CONTRACT** from September 1, 2015 through August 31, 2017. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES MAY 11, 2015 PAGE TWO

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF POLICY UPDATE 102

A motion was made by Darrell Moore to approve Policy Update 102 as presented by Mitch Davis. The update affects local policies: CDA(LOCAL): OTHER REVENUES - INVESTMENTS

DBB (LOCAL): EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS - MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS AND COMMUNICABLE DISEASES

DEA(LOCAL): COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS - COMPENSATION PLAN

DEAA (LOCAL): COMPENSATION PLAN - INCENTIVES AND STIPENDS

DEAB(LOCAL): COMPENSATION PLAN - WAGE AND HOUR LAWS

DFFA(LOCAL): REDUCTION IN FORCE - FINANCIAL EXIGENCY

DHE (LOCAL): EMPLOYEE STANDARDS OF CONDUCT - SEARCHES AND ALCOHOL/DRUG TESTING FNC (LOCAL): STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES - STUDENT CONDUCT FO (LOCAL): STUDENT DISCIPLINE Jeff Rogers seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's report on campus activities & enrollment, WHS baccalaureate and graduation, summer budget workshops, construction update, SHAC Report and canvass bond election.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:40 p.m. to 8:42 p.m. to discuss teacher evaluations and contracts, employment of personnel for 2015-16 and school security.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Ray Templeton made a motion to renew teacher contracts of Wylie Early Childhood Center, Wylie Elementary, Wylie Intermediate, Wylie Middle School, Wylie Junior High, and Wylie High School on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew counselor contract of Brenda Sandifer on a one-year contract for 12 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES MAY 11, 2015 PAGE THREE

To renew counselor contracts of Michelle Daniel and Darla Swanner on a one-year contract for 11 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Alyssa Brown, Mary Edmondson, Amy McGee, Leslie Bullock, & Leah Willman on a one-year contract for $10 \frac{1}{2}$ months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew counselor contracts for Melissa Steele and Kristal Noble on a one-year contract for 10 $\frac{1}{2}$ months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Jennifer Binkley, Robyn Collums, Kay Whitfield & LuAnn Whitaker on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

To employ Mitchell Etter, Monica Ford, Ramona Nelson, Molly Hunt, Jenni Riley, Eva Ukle, Shelly Stone, Kristin Scott, Dawn Brenem, Jennifer Lemke and Regina Siller on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Ray Templeton to adjourn. Official time was 8:43 P.M.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

	_	
Date		
	President	
	Secretary	