Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1793 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting April 9, 2018

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, April 9, 2018 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present:	Chris Teague, President John Sawyer, Secretary
	Stephanie Johnson
	Amanda Scarborough
Members absent:	Lupe Mancha, Vice-President
	Norman Baker
	Gerardo Carbajal

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, JaDarius Baxter, Greg Bodovsky, Laena Bodovsky, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Corey Brown, Pamalar Chambers, Beth Clarady, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Dwan Davis, D'Iverson Dowell, Cameron Fitch, Aleshia Fleming, Chris Flores, Shelia Flores, Donald Gordon, Keith Hannah, Melanie Harris, Courtney Hewitt, Jockan Librado, Jamal Long, Judith Marcos, Matilde Mezquita, Jaace Miles, Valarie Mitchell, Becky Montgomery, Stewart Murray, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Cathy Patterson, Robin Ralston, Rolando Ramirez, Eddie Ramos, Eric Ridder, Steve Risser, Eric Serrano, Monserrat Serrano, Carl Simmons, Christella Simmons, Tyson Simmons, Dale Snyder, Alejandra Solia, Cami Steele, Joshua Stepp, Tayler Sullivan, Jeremy Sweeney, Stephanie Tucker, and Neiman Turner.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Rev. Phil Hunt from Grace City Church, Chris Teague led the pledge.

Public Comments - none

Student Recognition – all from Hillsboro High School Girls' powerlifting team Boys' powerlifting team Boys' basketball team

Gerardo Carbajal and Lupe Mancha arrived during student recognition.

4786

Correspondence to the board – none

15469 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Board members' continuing education credits were reported – all members exceeded all requirements.

15470 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the Notice of Election for the May 5, 2018 general election

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

15471 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the TEA, 2017-2018 Application for Low Attendance Days Waiver.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Discussion on the purchase of portable buildings/classrooms brought about no action on this agenda item.

Since there was no action on the purchase of portable buildings item, there was no discussion or action on the agenda item Public Property Finance Act Contract No. HISD2018-01 approving the financing of the District Portable Buildings project.

15472 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by John Sawyer to recommend Chartwells as the food service management company to submit to Texas Department of Agriculture.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

- Sheila Bowman gave a report on Hillsboro ISD's gifted and talented program to the board.
- Principals orally reported bright spots

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
 - Safety all classroom doors lock
 - Overcrowding at campuses portable classrooms
 - \circ Our new bus has arrived

- Hillsboro ISD intends to apply for federal funds for the 2018-2019 school year
- Hillsboro Eagles Spring Relay is May 16th
- TASB Summer Leadership Institute; San Antonio June 14-16, Fort Worth June 28-30
- April is Autism awareness month
- Date for canvassing the election between May 8th &16th, 2 board members must be present
- TEA Financial compliance division correspondence

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #17 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #18 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:57 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 8:44 p.m.

15473 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the superintendent's recommendation on re-employing the following individuals for the 2018-2019 school year:

Daisy Abreu, Annette Abt, Kendra Bailey, Anne Bankes, Felipe Barragan, Bill Bates, Lindsey Bates, Jacob Baze, Alyssa Bedrick, Melissa Beseda, Kenna Bettge, Kyle Bodeker, Kimberly Bogue, Melissa Brake, Margie Briggs, Melanie Bruckbauer, Crystal Buxkemper, Kimberly Camp, Dodd Carmichael, Randi Castillo, Jenna Chambers, Michael Chirhart, Jan Cole, Cheryl Comer, Gary Comer, Cristal Compean, Shelby Cook, Teresa Corbisier, Cristina Covarrubias, Michael Cox, Laurie Creech, Terri Curry, Kyle Davis, Tabatha Davis, Glenn Doyle, Gwendolyn Dupree, Vicki Ellison, Jordan Estrada, Kandy Faris, Jennifer Faulknor, Ryan Finley, Aleshia Fleming, Lucas Florence, Tammy Fry, Jersey Gates, Ralph Gawehn, Ada Gomez, Tammy Gooden, Donna Green, Jamie Greenberg, Glenda Gregory, Rosalinda Grindstaff, Bertha Guerrero, Meghan Hafer, Molly Hale, Brittany Hamilton, Courtenay Hamilton, Pamela Hamilton, Jeff Hawkins, Malissa Hawkins, Jesse Hayes, Lena Hearin, Gerrie Henderson, Rianna Hewett, Courtney Hewitt, Lindsey Higgins, Kimberly Hill, Marilyn Hill, Stephnia Houston, Mark Howell, Janissa Ivy, Bill Jenkins, Schivonne John, Derrick Jones, Terra Jones, Hannah Kellar, Rick Kleine, Jennifer Kolar, Sarah Korn, Terri Lee, Ladonna Lewis, Laurie Lewis, Erin Lobato, Carol Mabry, Cindy Markwardt, Dana Marshall, Dayna Marshall, Sara Massey, Kellie Mathis, Kelli McClain, Stan McGarvey, Robin Merkel, Cheryl Milner, Rebecca Moore, Laura Moulder, Brenna Muscatell, Damaris Nuuanu, Elbayadira Orellana, Shae Owens, Albert Parker, Ericka Parker, Carrie Patrick, Olivia Peasley, Amy Peavy, Marsha Phillips, Katie Pierce, Katharine Polley, Larry Powell, Sharon Powell, Marion Ramos, Patricia Ramos, Amy Reeves, Eric Ridder, Stacy Ridder, John Robertson, Christine Robinson, Courtney Robinson, Linette Rogers, Amanda Rounsavall, Jordyn Russell, Sarah Sales, Gaila Sanders, Taylor Sanders, Bryan Schneider,

Lauren Schneider, Karen Schroeder, Mary Joe Schronk, Donovan Scott, Cassandra Sexton, Breanne Snyder, Danielle Spencer, Joey Spencer, Melisa Springfield, Michelle Steele, Stephanie Stephens, Joshua Stepp, Annette Straw, Rose Strona, Edward Sumrall, Jeremy Sweeney, Dawn Syverson, Ann Teel, Elizabeth Thompson, Vicki Thompson, Carrie Timpf, Ashley Tucker, Tabetha Tucker, Annette Underwood, Corey Vaughn, Meagan Vaughn, Kate Versluis, Crystal Volcik, Sherry Wakeland, Brenna Watson, Kortlin White, and Brittany Wilson.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

The meeting was adjourned at 8:44 p.m.

President

Secretary