Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 16, 2016

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Nancy Duggan at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Jeremy Hatcher, Nancy Duggan, Nick Vann, Chris

Taliaferro, Joanna Horton

Board members absent: Lanny Orman, Jr., Randy Robertson

Administrators attending: Alan Oakley, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail Crow, Chad Collins,

Vickie Griffith, Christian Reed

Guest attending: Brian Fraser, Melissa Schick, Joy Williams,

Stephen Dubner, James Sanders, Grant Miller

Diane Coursey, secretary and notary, administered the oath of office to the newly elected board members: Brian Fraser, Melissa Schick, and Joy Williams.

Nominations were made for the office of president. The following name was submitted: Jeremy Hatcher. The vote was 7-0 in favor of Jeremy Hatcher as president.

Nominations were made for the office of vice president. The following name was submitted: Joanna Horton. The vote was 6-1 in favor of Joanna Horton elected as vice president. Nancy Duggan opposed

Nominations were made for the office of secretary. The following name was submitted: Melissa Schick. The vote was 7-0 in favor of Melissa Schick elected as secretary.

Duggan made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Horton seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-1) Chris Taliaferro abstained

No Action was taken on the bus driver and substitute pay scale to be discussed at the budget workshop.

Cindy Wiedemann, business manager, discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

Alan Oakley, interim superintendent, discussed the information items with the board.

Duggan made a motion to hire Grant Miller as the middle school principal for the 2016-2017 school year. Fraser seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) Chris Taliaferro abstained

The board was called into executive session on May 16, 2016 at 7:30 pm by President Jeremy Hatcher according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act specially including legal issues related to the contract, duties, reassignment, discipline and evaluation of superintendent, assistant superintendent, business manager, athletic director, curriculum director, principals, teachers, and at-will employees and legal issues related to the Lone Finalist for superintendent.

The board returned to open session at 9:06 pm.	
Adjourn – 9:07 pm	
Jeremy Hatcher, Board President	Joanna Horton, Board Secretary