Recognition Board of Trustee Meeting April 27, 2021

LaGrone ATC - Cosmetology

This spring Emily Whitis, senior at Braswell High School, won the gold medal in the Texas SkillsUSA District 4 Championship in Barbering. Emily attends the Cosmetology program at the LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex where she has already completed her Texas Cosmetology Operator exam and is a licensed stylist.

Emily competed at the National Level on April 21 and will receive her results on April 30.

Her educator is Brenda Buster. The principal of the LaGrone ATC is Marcus Bourland. The principal of Braswell High School is DeCorian Hailey.

LaGrone ATC – TAFE Winners

The Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) hosts a skills competition to encourage young, future educators to focus their skills utilizing their creativity. Students are asked to prepare real world projects, in a variety of categories, to demonstrate their preparation skills and readiness to pursue a career in education.

Through the pre-education classes at the LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex, our district had 18 students finish first/gold certification at the State competition and six students qualify to compete at the upcoming Nationals Contest. The following students who earned honors include:

Gold Certificate/First Place Award Winners

Sydney Pape: Job Interview; Differentiated Lesson Plan Molly Mott: Public Speaking; Portfolio Mary Ray: Differentiated Lesson Plan Zaira Carlos: Educators Rising Moment Nkki Sternadel: Educational Leadership and Fundamentals Test Jessie Hall: Teacher Created Materials Elementary Emiley Davis: Educational Leadership and Fundamentals Test Kanisia Haley: Teacher Created Materials Elementary; Portfolio Aislinn Torres: Educational Leadership and Fundamentals Test; Portfolio Jennifer Elizondo: Project Visualize Teacher Appreciation Mirka Arellano: Portfolio Lindsey Ethridge: Portfolio Aspen Benedict: Portfolio Laura Teichmer: Portfolio

National Qualifiers

Project Visualize Service Caitlyn Cox and Giuseppa Sanfilippo **Children's Literature Pre-K** Giuseppa Sanfilippo and Yihao Cai Interactive Bulletin Board for Elementary Molly Mayfield and Landry Wilkins Interactive Bulletin Board for Secondary Ashley Busick Lesson Planning & Delivery Humanities Ashley Busick

TAFE is a co-curricular statewide non-profit student organization created to allow young men and women an opportunity to explore the teaching profession. TAFE is sponsored by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals and is governed by a board of directors comprised of teachers, students and principals.

Their educators are Leah Zavala and Staci Gilmore. The principal of the LaGrone ATC is Marcus Bourland.

Board Spotlight

This year marks the 14th consecutive year Denton ISD has been honored as one of <u>2021 Best</u> <u>Communities for Music Education designation from The NAMM Foundation</u> for its outstanding commitment to music education. Now in its 22nd year, the Best Communities for Music Education designation is awarded to districts that demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students.

To qualify for the Best Communities designation, Denton ISD answered detailed questions about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities, support for the music program and community music-making programs.

To mark this occasion, we are honored to feature Emilio Sanchez, lead choir director, at Rodriguez Middle School. Mr. Sanchez has quickly established an award-winning vocal music program in the school's short history. His enthusiasm for his students, including some nontraditional ways to engage them, stand an example of the caliber of the program our district cultivates and a key reason we are a perpetual winner.

For more information about The NAMM Foundation, please visit www.nammfoundation.org.

The Fine Arts Department is led by Dr. Jackie DeMontmollin, director, and Eddy Russell, assistant director. Carly Rogers is the principal of Rodriguez Middle School.