The work session of the Board of Education, School District #363 was held at the Northome School on Wednesday, March 19, 2025.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Brian Dreher at 6:01 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Recognition of Visitors: MacKenzie Lehn, Dale Erickson, Mike Hanson, Paul Nevanen, Dave McLaughlin, Jim McLaughlin, Linda Dreher, Kim Jourdan, Doug Jourdan, Alissa Carlson

McLaughlin Auctioneers presented the process of how the online auction works. McLaughlin Auctioneers have provided their services to other school districts and explained the results of some of those sales.

There was discussion on the sale of Indus building/campus. There were multiple ideas and points brought up on how the potential future sale of the campus could look. Marketing of the campus was also discussed as well as a timeframe. Koochiching County representatives also provided additional information regarding the sale of the Indus campus.

The detachment/annexation of ISD #363 discussion was made. The topic of re-opening the Indus school was brought up. MN Statute language regarding detachment and annexation was provided.

There was a question on whether the Lundgren Scholarship funds could be made to a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization. According to the scholarship agreement, this transaction cannot be made unless the School District ceases to exist or if Ashmore or his successor amends the agreement. The scholarship agreement further lays out terms on how the funds may be used or distributed to beneficiaries. The board was presented with information that a new successor has been named and that successor is willing to transfer the funds to a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization. This updated information will be brought to the district's legal representation.

The MSBA School Board Handbook revisions will be discussed next month's work session.

The next work session was scheduled for 6:00 p.m. on April 16, 2025 at the Northome School.

Moved by Scott Mai, seconded by Emily Lindley to adjourn at 7:43 pm. Motion carried unanimously.

Brian Dreher, Chairperson

Malisa Schue, Clerk

Emily Lindley, Treasurer