MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 10, 2019

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2019-20 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 10, 2019, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Mark McClellan, Chris McCurley, Abe Templeton, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, and Miller Loudermilk.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Craig Bessent, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Mike Eames, Phil Boone, Kim McMillan, Casey Todd, Lisa Bessent, Joey Ritchey, Richard Cumby, Amber Bearden, Terry Hagler, Aaron Amonett, Tim Smith, Lisa Salmon and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

OATH OF OFFICE

The Oath of Office was administered by Steve Keenem to newly elected board members Chris McCurley - Place 1, Mike Awtry - Place 2 and Miller Loudermilk - Place 3.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Mike Awtry nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Stephen Lowry made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Chris McCurley nominated Stephen Lowry as Vice President. Mike Awtry made a motion that nominations cease and Stephen Lowry be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 10, 2019 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Mike Awtry nominated Chris McCurley. There being no further nominations, Stephen Lowry made a motion that nominations cease and Chris McCurley be elected by acclamation. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 13, 2019 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Chris McCurley made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Mike Awtry.

The motion carried: $\underline{6}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against.

ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

Mike Awtry made a motion to select Miller Loudermilk as voting delegate and Stephen Lowry will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2019. Chris McCurley seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, summer board meetings & workshops, Construction report, TASB Convention-Dallas, Safety Audit report, and District property values.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:20 P.M. to 7:35 P.M. to attend to personnel matters, employee benefits, security, and student matter involving personally identifiable information.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Mark McClellan to employ Cliff Wilke, Chance Kilpatrick, Webb Murphy, Jazmine Moreno, Sydney Hymer, Kalyn Gensic, Lesa Aiken, Sierra Bennett, Justin Holland, Lauren McElroy, Kathy Olinde, Denise Cope, Anna Walker, and Jansen Wilhite on a one year contract for 10 months for the 2019-20 school year; subject to assignment.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 10, 2019 PAGE THREE

Board employ Angelita Stephenson on a one year contract for $10\frac{1}{2}$ months for the 2019-20 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Chris McCurley to adjourn. Official time was 7:40 P.M.

The motion carried: $\underline{6}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against.

| Date | | |
|------|-----------|--|
| | President | |
| | Secretary | |