

# **Board of Education**

Minutes of Work Session The Board of Education

A Work Session of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held January 13, 2020, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B.

Board Members Present: Ms. Susan McFerran, Ms. Talicia Richardson, Ms. Jeannie Cole, Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Mr. Greg Magness and Mr. Bill Hanesworth. Mr. Wade Gilkey was absent. Administrators and Staff Present: Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Terry Morawski, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, Mr. Martin Mahan, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, Ms. Sherri Penix, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Campus Support, Mr. Vance Gregory, Executive Director of Technology, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent.

Ms. McFerran, president, called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

# **STUDENT POLICY UPDATE - ASBA - FIRST READING**

Dr. Brubaker reported that Mr. Layes, the administration and Mr. Ney, District Legal Counsel, have recently updated current policies to the most recent recommendation provided by Arkansas School Board Association (ASBA). The new policies will have specific references to Arkansas statutes in the policies and can be quickly updated as statutes change.

The proposed ASBA Model Policies reflect what the administration believes are necessary and appropriate. These policies also reflect the most recent legislation from spring of 2019.

If these policies are adopted, any needed revisions of the student handbook necessary will follow.

After discussion, the administration recommended that the board approve on first reading at the January 27 Board Meeting these changes to Board Policies, Section 4 – Students, as presented to be effective upon final board approval.

# PERSONNEL POLICIES - ASBA - FIRST READING

Ms. Penix presented proposed personnel policies developed in collaboration with the Personnel Policy Committee (PPC) and the District's counsel. She stated that District administration and legal counsel have met with the PPC in November and the PPC is in agreement with the proposed policies. She stated that the draft personnel policies will be reviewed by the PPC again on January 14. Ms. Penix noted that any minor changes will be made and possibly presented to the Board for first reading on January 27. Ms. McFerran noted this as an information item with revised personnel policies to be presented at the January meeting. Board of Education Work Session – January 13, 2020 Page 2

### ONE TO ONE STUDENT DEVICE TECHNOLOGY INITIATIVE - PRESENTATION

Mr. Vance Gregory provided an overview of the past, present, and future One to One Student Technology Device initiative noting that the pilot began in 2012-2013 with Ramsey, Sunnymede and Morrison. He noted that initially student devices were Microsoft Windows laptops costing the district \$800 each. When the district-wide initiative began in the 2016-2017 school year, students were issued Dell Chromebooks at a cost of \$285 each. He reviewed the timeline as the remaining grades were added each school year through the current school year. The overview included information regarding the lifecycle and replacement schedule for student devices. Mr. Gregory reviewed the implementation task force, professional development activity, and web filtering, and monitoring. After questions from board members about home access and expanding home internet availability to all students through E-Rate funding or other federal funding, Mr. Gregory was invited to provide update at the February Work Session.

### VISION 2023 CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM UPDATE PRESENTATION

Mr. Morawski and Mr. Watts presented capital improvement updates and timelines at Northside High School, Southside High School and Ramsey Junior High School. Mr. Watts also provided a preconstruction update for the Career Technology Center.

# ADJOURN

There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Susan McFerran, President

Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Secretary