DRAFT

Minutes of the July 23, 2007 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on July 23, 2007 at 6:32 p.m. in the Board Room of the Coppell Independent School District Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Cindy Warner, Secretary; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Scott Orr; David Apple and Anthony Hill. A quorum was present.

Members absent: Susie Kemp

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Judy Denman; Tracey Wallace; Debra Hart; Curriculum Staff; Chad Branum; Denise Sullivan; Louis Macias and Bria Michael

Notice of this meeting was posted on July 19, 2007 at 5:57 a.m.

At 6:33 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Sections 551.071 and 551.074.

At 7:33p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Anthony Hill.

AWARDS

The 2006 Band and Choir Outstanding Soloists were honored. These students were recognized at the Texas State Solo Contest as Outstanding Soloists. This is the most students recognized, from one school, of any music program in Texas. Band students honored were Gloria An, Han Yu and Jason Orr. Choir students honored were Brandon Perry, Chelsea Own and Lauren Robertson. The band director is Scott Mason. Elisa West is the choir director.

OPEN FORUM

Wilton Munnings addressed the Board of Trustees during Open Forum concerning a follow-up on possible re-districting.

BOARD MEMBER REPORTS:

President Kathie Gautille listed committee assignments and campus adoptions for the Board of Trustees. All Board members will adopt Lee Elementary and Coppell High School for the 2007-08 school year, in addition to one middle school and one or two elementary campuses.

Board Members – No reports

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Sid Grant, Mike Elmore (SHW) and Louis Macias provided an overview of Phase 1 of the bond project.

George Williford of First Southwest Securities discussed the differences between a negotiated and competitive bond sale. The Board of Trustees directed the Coppell ISD Chief Financial Officer, Kelly Penny, and First Southwest Securities to proceed with a competitive bond sale.

CONSENT

Cindy Warner made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve Budget Amendments for 2006-2007
- 2. Approve Financial Report for June 2007
- 3. Approve Investment Report for period ending June 30, 2007
- 4. Approve Minutes of the June 18, 2007 and June 28, 2007 meetings
- 5. Approve changes to 2007-2008 calendar moving weather day from April 28 to April 14 due to testing schedule

David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

ACTION

Debra Hart, Director of Student Services and Special Programs, discussed the changes proposed by TASB to the 2007-08 Student Code of Conduct. The Board decided to postpone any decision until a draft of the Student Code of Conduct has been reviewed by the trustees.

Judy Denman, Assistant Superintendent of Administration, presented changes made by staff to policies EIF (LOCAL) and EEJB (LOCAL). The trustees postponed any decision regarding the adoption of Policy Manual Update 80 until they have had sufficient time to review all policy changes included in the update.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to endorse Mary Beth King as representative of Region 10 to the Texas Association of School Boards Board of Directors. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to adopt the resolution regarding the annual review of the investment program. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt the resolution regarding annual review and approval of authorized brokers. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt the resolution to approve independent sources of training of investment officers relating to investment responsibilities. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt a resolution to retain the law firm of Taylor Olson Adkins Sralla and Elam, L.L.P. for legal services and all related matters, and retain the law firm of Miller & Barondess, L.L.P. for legal services and all related matters. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

At 9:22 p.m., President Gautille declared the Board in closed session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074.

President Gautille declared the Board in open session at 10:17 p.m.

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept new hires for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:20 p.m.

Kathie Gautille, Board President

Cindy Warner, Secretary