ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING September 16, 2013

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, September 16, 2013, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Mr. Dan Peterson, Aledo High School Principal, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

Mr. Dave Marcath, AHS Agriculture teacher, and his FAA student officers gave an overview of their goals, community events and accomplishments for this year.

A moment of silence was observed for the Washington DC victims.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported current enrollment is 4878. It was predicted that growth would be at 99 but we have increased by 176 students. He is meeting with the demographer and will bring a report back to the board next month.

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Mr. Jay Stringer, presented the following commendations:

Kittie France – Outgoing PTO President The new PTO Board was introduced: President – Patti Oaks Vice President – Debbie Yarbrough Secretary – Kim Saenz Treasurer – Dana Byrne

Dr. David Tillman reported that the Community Partners have 20 new members and will meet again on October 4.

Mr. Hoyt Harris reported that the Aledo ISD Education Foundation Board attended the schools' open houses. The Foundation Board will meet again next Monday. He encouraged everyone to go online and donate to the Education Foundation on September 19, the National Day of Giving. The Foundation will match all donations.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment and Mr. Don Denman spoke about the proposed tax increase.

A motion was made by Mr. Bobby Rigues, seconded by Mr. David Davis, to approve the August 19 and 26, 2013 Minutes on the Consent Agenda as presented by administration.

Motion was: 7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

After asking for a clarification by Mr. Rigues, A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris to approve the Monthly Financial Reports on the Consent Agenda as presented by administration.

Motion was: David Tillman) 7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr.

0 AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced administrative report items:

- ~ Parent Survey Results Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, reported that the annual parent survey results will be posted on the website of each school.
- \sim Summer School Report Ms. Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability, reported 357 students in grades Pre K 11^{th} grade were serviced this year. The TxVSN program served 55 students that took 87 courses and received extra credit this past summer.
- ~ ESL Annual Report Ms. Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability, presented the ESL Annual Report.

.

A recommendation was made by Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, considering the approval of the Maintenance and Operations and Interest and Sinking Fund Tax Rate for the 2013-14 Fiscal year to take approximately 1.6 million dollars from the fund balance and adopt a 6.5 cent tax increase to the Interest and Sinking fund.

President Jay Stringer gave the Board the options of approving, declining, modifying, tabling, or postponing the recommendation.

A motion was made by Mr. Johnny Campbell, seconded by Mr. David Davis, to leave the Maintenance and Operations fund the same, leave the Interest and Sinking fund the same for one year and pay the deficient of the Interest and Sinking Fund from the General Fund.

A brief recess was called at 8:38 P.M. for Mr. Husfeld to prepare the ordinance with the changes made in the motion. The meeting resumed at 8:51 P.M.

An amended motion was made by Mr. Johnny Campbell, seconded by Mr. David Davis to adopt the ordinance levying and assessing ad valorem taxes for the Aledo Independent School District for the 2013 tax year to set the 2013 tax rate at \$1.4252 per \$100.00 valuation, \$1.1700 is allocated for Maintenance and Operations, and \$0.25552 is allocated for Interest and Sinking. (Exhibit A)

Motion was: 6 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

1 AGAINST (Bobby J Rigues)

A motion was made by Mr. David Davis, seconded by Mr. Steve Bartley, to approve Update 97 as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris,, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve the class size waiver (16 classes) as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Jay Stringer, seconded by Mr. David Davis, to approve the change to the Board Operating Procedure Manual as presented by administration..

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Mr. Steve Bartley, to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with the Aledo ISD Education Foundation as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Johnny Campbell, seconded by Mr. Bobby Rigues, to approve the Tarrant County Appraisal District Nominees (re-nomination of those already on the board)

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. David Davis, to approve the Parker County Appraisal District Nominees (re-nomination of those already on the board)

Motion was:

7 FOR (President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby J Rigues, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, and Dr. David Tillman)

0 AGAINST

It was determined that an Executive Session was not needed.

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements – The Board thanked Mr. Earl Husfeld for all of his work on the tax rate and thanked the community for their comments. They also cautioned everyone that this rate will only be for one year and they will have to look at it again next year.

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 9:21 P.M.

SECRETARY_		PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED		