AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., June 16, 2009, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon

Fuller, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Tommy Harrison, Pete Frankson, Wayne Squires, Staci Ashley,

Dana Wiest, Mark McDonald, Fr. Mark Miller, Todd Berridge, Elaine Smith, Stacy Jones, Jennifer Jones, Shawn Bell, Blake Hensen, Larry Johnson, Jeannie & Billy Tripp, Shelia Stevenson, Chuck Isner, Jack Hernandez, Claudia Carey, Kelly Fletcher, Janet Smith, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Ann Suiter,

Nelda Loya

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board

of Trustees Meeting to order.

20553 Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags: The

United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Jacob Prieto and Kelli

Martin of Dowling Elementary School.

20554 Invocation: Rev. Clydel Chapman, Northside Baptist Church, gave the

invocation.

<u>20555</u> <u>Special Presentations</u>:

Recognition of State Qualifers –

The following student athletes were recognized as State Qualifiers:

Permian Girls' Track – Coach Carl Chancellor 800 Meter - Shartanae Swearengin Jamia Graham

Minutes of Regular Board Meeting June 16, 2009

100 Meter Hurdles -Porshia Fobbs

Permian Boys' Track & Field – Coach Jeep Shanks 110 Meter High Hurdles - Ryan McDowell, Region 1-5A champion

Permian Tennis – Coach Mary Kay Mann Tai Lucero and Charlotte Dawson - State Qualifiers

OHS Gymnastics – Boys' Coach Antonio Gonzalez Jackie Johnson (AA) Gilbert Rivera (AA) Tim Linder (Vault)

OHS Gymnastics – Girls' Coach Gayla Billingsley Kira Lockhorn (AA)

Permian Gymnastics – Girls' Coach Brandi Pettus Erin Cranson

Permian Gymnastics – Boys' Coach Jared Whiles
Micah Tripp Ryan Press Matt LeBlanc
Matthew Martinez Riley Murphy Dustin Fowler
Dylan Huddleston Travis Coody Trey Enriquez
Bryce Pre

Recognition of Special Olympics State Qualifiers

Coach Julie Fincher, presented the following Special Olympics State Qualifiers:

Michael Orcullo Daniel Hinojos David Hinojos
Jacob Nance Alfredo Sanchez Douglas Downhour
Lindsey Foran Vera Carney Kimberly Ortiz

Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of the Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

<u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood that the following Consent Agenda be approved.

Superintendent's Agenda

1. Request for Approval of Superintendent's Agenda

- 2. Minutes of Meetings
 - a. April 30, 2009 Special
 - b. May 12, 2009 Special
 - c. May 19, 2009 Regular
 - d. June 2, 2009 Special
- 3. Bills for Payment
- 4. School Construction Report
- 5. Purchases Over \$250,000
- 6. Disposal of Surplus Equipment
- 7. Request for Approval of Tax Foreclosed Property
- 8. Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement between ECISD and Communities in Schools
- 9. Request for Approval of AVID Contract
- 10. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report
- 11. Request for Approval of Vehicle Service Contract
- 12. Request for Approval of Ratliff Stadium 2007 Renovations Contract Closeout

Motion unanimously approved.

- **<u>Presentation: Reading Institute Overview:</u>** Fannie Wright, K-6 Reading Coordinator, made a presentation with regard to the Reading Institute and the Memorandum of Understanding between UTPB and ECISD.
- 20559 Request for Approval of Memorandum of Understanding for UT Systems Reading Institute: Moved by Pace, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Memorandum of Understanding for UT Systems Reading Institute as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **Request for Approval of District Improvement Plan:** Dr. Steve Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Operations, gave an overview/update of the District Improvement Plan. No action was taken. This item will be presented for action at the July 21, 2009 Regular Board Meeting.
- **Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #3:** Moved by Pace, seconded by Norwood to approve Budget Amendment #3 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Request for Approval of Purchase of Non-State Adopted Textbooks:</u>
Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins to approve the purchase of Non-State Adopted textbooks.

Motion unanimously approved.

20563

Request for Approval of Permian High School Band, Choir, and Orchestra Out-of-State Travel: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Permian High School Band, Choir, and Orchestra Out-of-State Travel as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>Discussion of Board Policy EIF(Local) Academic Achievement:</u>
 <u>Graduation (First Reading)</u>: Board Policy EIF(Local) Academic Achievement Graduation was presented for discussion and first reading.
- 20565

 Closed Meeting Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas
 Government Code (Recommendation to Hire Executive Director of
 Fine Arts and Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the
 appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties,
 discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Carol
 Gregg, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive
 Session at 7:15 p.m.

Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 7:23 p.m.

Request for Approval to Hire Executive Director of Fine Arts: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the recommendation to Hire Shawn Bell as Executive Director of Fine Arts.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>20568</u> Request for Approval of Reorganization of Board of Trustees:

The following nominations for Board President were presented:

Dr. Donna Smith - 7 votes

The following nominations for Board Vice-President were presented:

Fay Batch – 6 votes Ray Beaty, DC – 1 vote The following nominations for Board Secretary were presented:

Dr. Donnie Norwood – 1 vote Tom Pace – 2 votes Yollie Wilkins – 3 votes

(Carol Gregg abstained from voting for the Board Secretary position)

The following will serve as 2009-2010 Board of Trustees Officers for the Ector County Independent School District:

President: Dr. Donna Smith Vice-President: Fay Batch Secretary: Yollie Wilkins

20569

Request for Approval of TASB Delegate and Alternate and Submission of Advocacy Position for 2009 TASB Delegate Assembly: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve Yollie Wilkins as TASB Delegate and Dr. Donna Smith as

alternate.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:26 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Dr. Donna Smith	Yollie Wilkins