WHITE SETTLEMENT INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT OFFICIAL MINUTES May 12, 2025

Members Present

Ms. Krystal Arnold, Mr. Ben Davis, Mr. Glen Lowry, Dr. Jeremy Lelek, Mr. Raymond Patterson, and Ms. Amanda Sanchez.

School Officials Present

Mr. Frank Molinar, Mr. David Bitters, and Ms. Heather Crow

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. Following roll call, the announcement was made by Mr. Ben Davis, Board President, that 6 members of the Board of Trustees present constitutes a quorum.

B. Public Comments

Five people signed up to address the board.

- 1. Harper Kaestner- did not show up to speak
- 2. Becca Miles- expressing support and gratitude for a principal
- 3. Leslie Alvarez- regarding recruitment of new Drill Team Director
- 4. Christopher Saucedo- regarding issues
- 5. Briley Hicks- regarding his families' experiences and "thank you" to the district

C. Closed Meeting

The Board adjourned to closed session at 5:46 p.m.

D. Reconvene to Open Session

The Board reconvened to open session at 7:05 p.m.

Campus Spotlight- Brewer Middle School

E. Information Items

Superintendent's Report

Financial Update

a. Mr. David Bitters, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations, gave a financial update to the Board for April 2025.

1. Mr. David Bitters, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations, then gave an overview of the 2025-2026 proposed budget.

b. Instructional Update

Ms. Heather Crow, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, introduced Ms. Connie Bitters, and Ms. Karen Gonzales, who gave an update on Teacher Incentive Allotment.

F. Consent Items

The motion was made by Mr. Glen Lowry and seconded by Ms. Amanda Sanchez to approve the 16 consent items on the agenda.

- 1. Approve Minutes of April 14, 2025 Regular Meeting
- 2. Consider Monthly Expenditures for April 2025
- 3. Consider Approval of Amended Budget
- 4. Consider Changing the Date of the Regular June Board Meeting
- 5. Consider Approval of Vendor for Student UIL Accident Insurance
- 6. Consider Approval of Vendor to Replace the Cafeteria Serving Line at the Fine Arts Academy at Tannahill
- 7. Consider Approval for the Purchase of a Box Truck
- 8. Consider Approval of Vendor to Replace the Flooring at the Fine Arts Academy at Tannahill
- 9. Consider Approval of Asphalt Remediation for Brewer High School Track
- 10. Consider Approval of Transportation Agreement for the 2025-2026 School Year
- 11. Consider Approval to Submit Low-Attendance Day Waivers to TEA
- 12. Consider Approval of Vendor for Districtwide Tree Trimming Services
- 13. Consider Approval of Restroom Partition Replacement for Fine Arts Academy at Tannahill
- 14. Consider Approval to Renew Cisco Smart Net Agreement
- 15. Consider Approval of Vendor for the Renovation of Restroom at Brewer High School
- 16. Consider Vendor for Counseling Curriculum

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

G. Separate Items

<u>1. Consider Plumbing CTE Pathway</u>

Following the presentation by Dr. Eric Kibodeaux, CTE Director, Dr. Jeremy Lelek made the motion and seconded by Mr. Glen Lowry to approve the Plumbing CTE Pathway as presented.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

2. Consider Approval of Maintenance and Operations Building Construction

Following the presentation, Ms. Krystal Arnold made the motion and seconded by Ms. Amanda Sanchez to approve the Maintenance and Operations Building Construction as presented.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

3. Canvass the Votes and Certify the Election Results of the May 3, 2025 School Board Trustee Election

Ms. Sherry Taylor, Executive Director of Human Resources, presented the official election results from Tarrant County Elections, with 483 votes for Jeremy Lelek and 489 votes for John Morton for Place 4, and 834 votes for Ben Davis in Place 5, electing John Morton for Place 4 and re-electing Ben Davis for Place 5. Dr. Jeremy Lelek made the motion and seconded by Ms. Krystal Arnold to approve and canvas the election results as presented.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

Mr. John Morton and Mr. Ben Davis were then sworn in. Dr. Jeremy Lelek was recognized for his service to the Board, then stepped down from the board panel and Mr. John Morton then took his position on the panel.

4. Consider Organization of Board of Trustees

Mr. Glen Lowry made the motion and seconded by Mr. Raymond Patterson to leave the Board cabinet as it is currently, Mr. Ben Davis, President, Mr. John Bradley, Vice President, Ms. Amanda Sanchez, Secretary, and Ms. Krystal Arnold TASB Delegate.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

H. Consider Items Discussed in Closed Meeting Including Personnel

The motion was made by Mr. Raymond Patterson and seconded by Ms. Amanda Sanchez to approve the resignations of Angelica Arroyo, Teresa Bellwood, Angela Craff, Leah Davis, Eliana Dumas, Stacey Elkins, Aleah Fenwick, Emory Forseth, Rafael Franco, Melissa Galloway, Kristen Hager, Patricia Hicks, Tyler Jackson, Jasmond Johnese, Cornelius Lawhorn, Melanie Meredith, Kason Peterson, Daryl Porter, Charmaine Rambo, Amanda Reed, Alba Sales, Ashley Smith, Tonja Tyrone, Hannah Wallace, Brock West, Katherine Whitworth, and Sarah Williams, the retirement of Tiffany Molinar, the appointments of Rachel Amrine, Courtney Berry, Benjamin Beuntello, Kerry Cooper, Cassie Dowdy, Casandra Duran, Ashley Fitzgerald, Samantha Guffey, Katelyn Hadley, Nikkolas Hernandez, Heather Huffaker, Crystal Intfen, Anna Kaag, Riley Kueck, Emily Lemons, Morgan Livingston, Dylan Miller, Jesse Pearson, Maya Portillo, Jessica Pupalaikis, Jamaal Scott, Shelby Smith, Nathan Wester, and Elizabeth Winslow, and contract extensions listed below as presented.

CONTRACT EXTENSIONS FOR 2025-2026:

Brewer High School

Michael Dickinson (Admin.-Term) Kirsten Otey (Teacher- Dual Probationary- 4th Yr) Angelica Zarate (Teacher- Probationary- 3rd Yr)

Brewer Middle School

Joshua Brown (Teacher- Probationary- 1st Yr) Jo Demoville (Teacher- Probationary- 2nd Yr) Karis Paige (Teacher- Probationary- 3rd Yr) Caroline Quinn (Teacher- Dual Probationary – 2nd Yr) Curtis Taylor III (Teacher- Dual Probationary- 2nd Yr)

Liberty

Ivana Ropa (Teacher- Probationary- 2nd Yr)

<u>North</u>

Sarahi Castillo (Teacher- Probationary- 2nd Yr)

<u>Tannahill</u>

Anahy Castillo (Teacher- Probationary- 2nd Yr) Mason Molinar (Teacher- Probationary- 1st Yr)

<u>West</u>

Noemi Long (Teacher- Probationary- 2nd Yr) Sully Martinez (Teacher- Probationary- 1st Yr) Tatiana Plaza Barreto (Teacher- Probationary- 1st Yr)

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

Introduction of new staff appointments:

Crystal Intfen- Secondary Education Director Kerry Cooper- Elementary Education Director Heather Huffaker- Advanced Academics Coordinator

I. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 8:58 p.m.

President

Secretary