UNADOPTED MINUTES OF THE NORTHWEST ARCTIC BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT

Mission: "To provide a learning environment that inspires and challenges students and employees to excel." Vision: "To graduate all students with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary for a successful future."

President, Margaret Hansen, called the special meeting of the Northwest Arctic Borough School District Board of Education to order at 11:35 a.m. on Monday, October 14, 2024.

CALL TO ORDER

Board Members present were:

Alice Melton-Barr Millie Hawley Tillie Ticket

Carol Schaeffer

Marie Greene

Alice Adams

Shannon Melton

Lawrence Jones Margaret Hansen

Joanne Harris

Board Members absent and excused were:

Nellie Ballot

A quorum was present.

Observed.

Those present participated in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Staff/guests present: Terri Walker-Superintendent; Jeff Alexander, Assistant Superintendent; Joy Cogburn-Smith-Director of State/Federal Programs, Natalie Dickie, Business Manager; Amy Eakin-Director of Technology, Shayne Pungowiyi, Executive Assistant; Jeanne Gerhardt-Cyrus, New Board Member Elected; Robert Sheldon II, Activities Coordinator; Dena Strait, Capital Projects;

Northwest Arctic Borough School District Board Secretary, Shayne Pungowiyi, swore in re-elected Board Members: Millie Hawley of Kivalina Alaska, Alice Adams of Noatak Alaska, and Shannon Melton of Buckland Alaska. Newly-elected Board Member: Jeanne Gerhardt-Cyrus, Kiana Alaska; Raymond Woods, Shungnak Alaska.

Congratulations to the elected Board Members were given.

Margaret Hansen thanked Lawrence Jones Sr. and Nellie Ballot for the time they have given to support the students of the Northwest Arctic Borough School District.

President, Margaret Hansen, called for nominations for *President*.

Carol Schaeffer nominated Margaret Hansen as President, seconded by Alice Adams, Marie Greene asked for unanimous consent. Margaret Hansen was unanimously voted in as President.

Margaret Hansen resumes the position as President.

President, Margaret Hansen called for nominations for *Vice-President*.

Alice Melton-Barr nominated Marie Greene as Vice-President, Marie Greene Declined nomination. Margaret Hansen Nominated Carol Schaeffer as Vice-President, Marie Greene made a motion for Nominations to be closed, Alice Melton-Barr Seconded the motion and asked for unanimous consent. Carol Schaeffer was elected as Vice-President.

ROLL CALL

MOMENT OF SILENCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

INTRODUCTION OF STAFF/GUESTS

OATH OF OFFICE

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

President, Margaret Hansen, called for nominations for Secretary.

Millie Hawley nominated Alice Adams, Margaret Hansen nomintated Tillie Ticket, Marie Greene moved to close the nominations, Alice Melton-Barr Seconded the motion. Tillie Ticket was unanimously voted in as Secretary.

President, Margaret Hansen, called for nominations for *Treasurer*.

Alice Melton-Barr nominated Alice Adams as Treasurer, Alice Adams declined nomination. Carol Schaeffer Nominated Marie Greene, Margaret Hansen asked for unanimous consent, seconded by Alice Melton-Barr. Marie Greene was unamiously voted in as Treasurer.

President, Margaret Hansen, calls for nominations for Parliamentarian.

Alice Adams nominated Millie Hawley, Marie Greene requested nominations be closed. Millie Hawley was unamiously voted in as Parliamentarian.

Board Members are requested to send their selection for Board Committee's to President Margaret Hansen.

The next Board meeting of the NWABSD Board of Education will be the Board Retreat held October 25 & 26 in Kotzebue, AK.

Tillie Ticket moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Millie Hawley.

Motion passed with unanimous consent.

The meeting adjourned at 12:06 pm.

Tillie Ticket, Secretary

Shayne Pungowiyi, Recording Secretary

DATE/TIME OF NEXT BOARD MEETING

ADJOURNMENT