# Agenda Item B - Recognitions and Celebrations

# MHS Robotics Team

The Robotics Team competed in March and placed third in the invention category and earned the right to compete at the State level. They won <u>third place out of 40 teams</u> <u>at the State Robotics Competition!</u>



Carmen Suarez, Kayley Lantrip, Patrick Prince (All 12<sup>th</sup> Graders)





## FCCLA (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America)

Mineola High School FCCLA competed in Regional Competition and had three students qualify to compete at the state level:

**Tristan Mosher** – 1<sup>st</sup> Place Entrepreneurship (Junior Division)

Kayley Lantrip & Hannah Backer – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place
National Programs in Action (Senior Division)

Kayley and Hannah received fourth place medals at the State Competition.



Kayley Lantrip (12th gr.), Hannah Backer (12th gr.), Tristan Mosher (9th gr.)



FCCLA Sponsor Patty Hawkins received the Master Advisor Award at the State Conference. She has also been selected to receive national recognition from FCCLA as a 2014 Master Advisor at the National Leadership Conference in San Antonio this summer. Nationwide there are over 5,500 chapter advisors. At the National Conference, Mrs. Hawkins will be one of approximately 114 chapter advisors recognized and given an award. The Mineola chapter of FCCLA has continued to grow and has become very active. We applaud her for helping her students succeed by being a strong advisor.

## **Anchor Club**

The Mineola High School Anchor Club attended the State convention in February. They were named the **Outstanding Anchor Club in the State for 2013.** Emily Wilkerson was elected Texas District Anchor President. Janell Abbott, their advisor, was named the State Anchor Advisor of the Year.



## **Outstanding Anchor Club in the State**

(Left to Right) Patrick Hurley, Elizabeth Vargas, Emily Wilkerson, Caleb Witt, Madalyn Newell, Callie Walters, Sparkle Dennis, Leslie Lyke, Lincoln Fischer, Sophia Heard, Leslie Rojas, Jorie Sauer, Mallori White, Christina Caruso, Emily Ray, Claire Pickens, Presley Talley, Calli Mize



Emily Wilkerson
Texas District Anchor President



Janell Abbott
State Anchor Advisor of the Year
receiving her award from Miss Texas

Anchor Club Advisor Janell Abbott was named State Anchor Advisor of the Year at the Texas Anchor Convention. She also received this honor last year. Mrs. Abbott continues to go above and beyond what is expected of an Anchor Club Advisor. Her group is very active in the school district as well as the community. We commend her for her dedication, leadership, and success as advisor.