Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Oct. 12, 2010

Schools receive top ratings from TEA

Students at almost every grade level and subject area exceeded their 2008-09 scores on the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) for the 2009-10 school year.

These top performances resulted in Denton ISD receiving the "Recognized" Rating from the Texas Education Agency, and 26 schools being named either "Exemplary" or "Recognized"

The 13 elementary schools receiving the prestigious "Exemplary" rating include:

Blanton Elementary School – Karen Satterwhite, principal, and Kyle Whileyman, assistant principal. Carolyn Ansley was the assistant principal last year.

Hawk Elementary School – Susannah O'Bara, principal, and Monica Graves, assistant principal. Sandra Brown was the assistant principal last year.

Houston Elementary School – Teresa Andress, principal, and Gennifer Smith, assistant principal.

McNair Elementary School – Sean Flynn, principal, and Rachel Brown, assistant principal.

Nelson Elementary School – Kaylene Tierce, principal, and Todd Herauf was the assistant principal.

Paloma Creek Elementary School – Romeo Munguia, principal, and Christopher Smith, assistant principal.

Pecan Creek Elementary School –Emily McLarty, principal, and Natalie Mead, assistant principal. Aleta Atkinson was principal for first semester of 2009-10.

Providence Elementary School – Susan Bolte, principal, and Tricia Bolz, assistant principal.

E.P. Rayzor Elementary School – Happy Carrico, principal, and Cecilia Holt, assistant principal.

Newton Rayzor Elementary School – Carlos Ramirez, principal, and Laura Ortez, assistant principal

Savannah Elementary School – Michael McWilliams, principal, and Shannon Meshell, assistant principal. Chris Rangel was the assistant principal last year.

Stephens Elementary School – Rod Southard, principal, and Chris Rangel, assistant principal. Eric Harting was the interim principal last year.

Wilson Elementary School – Audrey Staniszewski, principal, and Lorena Salas, assistant principal

The 4 elementary schools receiving the prestigious "Recognized" rating include:

Evers Park Elementary School – Jayne Flores, principal for 2009-10 school year, Trey Spalding, assistant principal. For 2010-11, Trey Spalding principal, and Lauren Turley, assistant principal.

Ginnings Elementary School –Missy Chavez, principal, and Darby Ahlfinger, assistant principal

Lee Elementary School – Laura Rodriguez, principal, and Talle Gomez, assistant principal.

Rivera Elementary School – Robert Gonzalez, principal for 2009-10, and Roshaunda Thomas, assistant principal For 2010-11, Roshaunda Thomas, principal, and Patty Jensen, assistant principal.

All 6 middle schools receiving the prestigious "Recognized" rating include:

Calhoun Middle School – Anthony Sims principal, and Joy Faulks, Martin Brumit and Michael Parker, assistant principals.

Crownover Middle School – Gwen Perkins, principal, and Jason Rainey and Shandi Davis, assistant principals.

Harpool Middle School – Mike Vance, principal, and Kristen Hicks and Jeff Smith, assistant principals.

McMath Middle School – Dr. Debra Nobles, principal, and Buddy Dunworth and Karla Rainey, assistant principals.

Navo Middle School – Shaun Perry, principal, and Paul Martinez and Mary Stewart, assistant principals.

Strickland Middle School – Kathleen Carmon principal, and Greg Hart and Pam Shaw, assistant principals. Decorian Hailey was an assistant principal last year.

All 3 comprehensive high schools receiving the prestigious "Recognized" rating include:

Denton High School – Darrell Muncy, principal; Renee Koontz, associate principal; Brian Massegee, instruction dean; Aaron Frederick, Howard Palmer, Bill Miegel, and Donna Lawyer, assistant principals.

Guyer High School – Barbara Fischer, principal; Gene Terronez, associate principal; Donna Jones, instruction dean, and Mark Jaskulske, Matt Hill, Regina Little and D'Lee Cook, assistant principals. Fred Younkman was assistant principal last year.

Ryan High School – Vernon Reeves, principal; Angela Ricks, associate principal; Linda Skaggs, instruction dean; Eldridge Moore, Nicole May, Francisca Ryan and Fred Younkman, assistant principals. Kristi Strickland was associate principal and Marcus Bourland was assistant principal last year.